Calling All Creatives :: Quotography Project Time!!

19 Apr

I’ve mentioned it…oh…maybe a million times?  A million bajillion times?  Finally, the moment has arrived!

In an effort to keep this as uniform as possible…and because I think Bacon-Cameras are funny, I’m going to just copy/paste from my partner in crime and co-host for this project, Nick of Nick Exposed.

BAM! Time for another collaboration photo project!

If you remember last months Luck of the Irish Collab, my good friend Shannon and I took the same concept each and attacked it with our cameras and creative thinking. It was interesting to see how two creatives thousands of miles apart would come to visualizing the same idea and concept. Well.. Shannon and I have been talking and its time to bring another collaboration to the surface, only this time were going to get anybody and everybody involved to add to the excitement and creativity!

If your following either the Nick Exposed or the Seeing Spots Photography Facebook pages you have probably seen the sneak peeks we’ve been posting over the last couple weeks (If your not following our pages heres the hint to do so so you don’t miss out on all the cool shit we post!! Capiche?  ;) ). If you happened to miss our awesome sneak peak posts the topic of the collab is “Quotography”, taking famous.. and not so famous quotes and visualizing them in the form of a photo. Simple enough right?

So how is this thing going to work?

Each participant will submit their 3 favorite quotes which will be randomly be given to other creatives. Which in turn means you will get 3 random quotes that you will then have to creatively capture through the lens. You can use your dslr, 35mm, Hasselblad medium format, iphone, pinhole watermelon, holga camera built entirely out of bacon bits.. etc. the point is it doesn’t matter what you use or have to capture the photo with as long as you approach it in a creative fashion. Theres really no wrong way to do it.

Whats the timeframe?

We would like to have anyone who would like to participate in the collab email me nrmayo87@gmail.com with your three favorite quotes. Put “Count me in for Quotography” as the subject and have an email to me by 10am est. Sat 21st.

Deadline for submitting your photos to be featured in the write up and “online exhibit” will be May 5th, which after quotes are submitted and distributed will give roughly 2 weeks to brain storm and execute your ideas.

Are there prizes?

This is not a contest (Although if you are able to make a camera out of Bacon Bits I will find you a prize), but rather a creative exercise involving our photog communities.

What would be considered a good quote to submit?

Obviously we aren’t going to work with any inappropriate quotes or images. However any inspiring/motivating quote will do. Ex. “Be the change you wish to see in the world” -Mahatma Gandhi

When you submit please include the authors name so that the quote may be credited when presented with the image. Also before submitting any “Unknown” author quotes please do a quick search on google , goodreads or a similar site in order to ensure as many quotes as possible get proper recognition.

Other than that feel free to leave any questions in the comments below, or email them to me directly. Please send your quotes submissions and statement that you wish to participate to my email and not to the comments below, that will ensure it is all in the same place, as I would hate to accidentally leave anyone out.

We are truly excited to bring this project to the community and cant wait to see where it will lead.

16 Responses to “Calling All Creatives :: Quotography Project Time!!”

  1. Jeremy April 19, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    Whooooo Hoooooo!!!!! Oh, wait, homework!!!! Haha, just kidding, this I’d gonna be fun and a great challenge!

  2. Being Julz April 19, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    Reblogged this on Being Julz and commented:
    This looks like such fun I couldn’t resist giving it a try. Rather than trying to write up my own post and copy & paste the important stuff I thought it would be much easier to just Reblog this. They would like anyone interested to participate, all the contact info etc is included in this post. I think it’s going to be a fun challenge. :-)

  3. Being Julz April 19, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    Yeah! Now to figure out my quotes…
    I reblogged this post to help spread the word. Let the good times roll!! :-)

    • seeingspotsphoto April 21, 2012 at 3:42 am #

      Love it! Thank you so much. =) Can’t wait to see your quotes!!

      • Being Julz April 21, 2012 at 3:47 am #

        Just sent the email with my three quotes over to Nick’s email address. Now to see which quotes I end up getting to Quotograph. :-)

  4. 8teen39 April 19, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    Must it be a motivational quote? My favorite: “The trouble with quotes on the Internet is that it’s difficult to discern whether or not they are genuine.” ~~ Abraham Lincoln

    • seeingspotsphoto April 21, 2012 at 3:41 am #

      hahaha Because what isn’t attributed to Abraham Lincoln? =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mirror Mirror « quiet girl in the room - April 30, 2012

    [...] pictures and getting drenched! I was trying to do a photography project which Nick Exposed and Seeing Spots photography have put together called quotography – which is pretty challenging! I will let you know when the [...]

  2. Bikes and Shadows | seeingspotsphoto.com - May 1, 2012

    [...] we had hoped for.  The Buddhist Temple I wanted to see in order to create an image for my Quotography project (for those of you participating, you have until next Sunday at midnight to submit your images!) [...]

  3. Project 52 Week 18 | Mr Bunny Chow - May 3, 2012

    [...] There will be a couple of other posts from me coming up today and tomorrow discussing the quotography project I’ve been participating in for Nick Exposed and Seeing Spots. [...]

  4. Quotography # 1 | Mr Bunny Chow - May 3, 2012

    [...] So here we go the first of at least three posts about the quotography project I’m taking part in with Nick Exposed and Seeing Spots  [...]

  5. Quotography # 2 | Mr Bunny Chow - May 3, 2012

    [...] with a little less preamble here is part two of my share for my quotography project with Nick Exposed and Seeing Spots. [...]

  6. Quotography # 3 | Mr Bunny Chow - May 3, 2012

    [...] be doing showing my quotography efforts but I do plan to share some stuff from Nick Exposed and Seeing Spots as well as whoever else from the project takes my [...]

  7. Quotography Challenge – My Submission | Being Julz - May 6, 2012

    [...] in a project that Shannon, at Seeing Spots Photography, and Nick, at Nick Exposed, had put together called Quotography.  Quotography is something that Shannon first started doing as a personal project years ago, you [...]

  8. Quotography Submission #1 | seeingspotsphoto.com - May 7, 2012

    [...] any of you who have been following my blog know, I am co-hosting a collaborative, creative photo project with my good friend Nick from NickExposed. Not wanting to influence any of the participants, I [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,261 other followers

