Dusky Blues

26 Mar
Dusky Blues

Dusky Blues

 

What’s the most important component of a landscape shot?  Location? Composition? Light?  This is the tail end of the sunset from last week’s post, where I spent as much time as I could fully exploring a spot that resonated with me, trying to find the best conditions for the images I wanted to create.  Although it’s the same location and subject matter, to me, the deeper blues of dusk give it a completely different feel.

 

When you shoot, what do you guys look for?  Do you go where the light takes you?  Or do you find a spot you like and wait for the weather to work with your vision?

19 Responses to “Dusky Blues”

  1. drlphotography March 26, 2014 at 2:21 pm #

    Great photo! I guess I do all of those things. I sometimes find a spot and wait for the weather and light to work for me and sometimes I just go with the flow. But I do think the most important feature is composition. You can have the best light but if there is something screwing up your composition or something missing from it, then the photo is ruined.

    • seeingspotsphoto March 28, 2014 at 5:21 pm #

      Could not agree more!! Composition is key. Great light is wasted on a boring composition.

      I always think of a photo as a puzzle. There are infinite ways to combine the components (light, location, comp) but only the right recipe will make magical, striking, emotional images.

  2. derwentvalley March 26, 2014 at 2:35 pm #

    I normally just go with the flow, I’ll visit a place I enjoy, and then decide the sort of photos i’m going to take in accordance with the weather and light. On a recent visit up to Hadrian’s wall, the initial idea was to take grand vistas of the Northumberland Countryside as well as bright airy shots of the wall. But unfortunately the weather had other ideas, instead of bright spring sunshine which we’d had the day before it was miserable and foggy and damp. So instead I went for moody, atmospheric black and white photos.

    • seeingspotsphoto March 28, 2014 at 5:19 pm #

      haha How true…Mama Nature doesn’t always co-operate with out vision! I like that you’re versatile and flexible enough to make lemonade out of lemons though. :-) I think for me, its usually the same….I’ll work with what I’m given at a location I like, unless it’s close, then I’ll visit when the conditions are right.

      • derwentvalley March 29, 2014 at 8:21 am #

        I think so times you have no choice but to think on your feet, and like you say try and turn lemons in to Lemonade. Personally I feel sometimes if you try to hard to take the perfect picture you in fact miss the perfect picture. As your so focused you miss everything else that’s going on around you.

      • seeingspotsphoto March 29, 2014 at 8:00 pm #

        That is definitely possible. Sometimes I wish sunset/blue hour was much longer so I had more time to explore every scene and find the most magical set-up. haha I just read this interesting piece about a guy in Antarctica who had to do everything from a moving boat. He came from a landscape background and it was a big culture shock (no tripod! haha) but it made him better at seeing the many possibilities of a scene quickly and anticipating the best shot. Kind of an interesting exercise to try…retraining yourself to be more aware, and less bound to what you thought you wanted out of a scene before you started.

  3. artistspromenade March 26, 2014 at 6:27 pm #

    I love the blues and silver in this photo. I think I search for light first, unless looking for a specific shot, and wait to see what shows up or moves me. I think, part of it depends on my mood as well, maybe if I’m grumpy I seek more shadows and darkness. Conversely, if I’m happy I might seek lighter and brighter shots. Great question. Love the blog.

    • seeingspotsphoto March 28, 2014 at 5:17 pm #

      Great point about the light and how you shoot something. I think the same goes for editing. Some shots call for a certain mood, and other times, my mood calls for certain shots. :-)

  4. Nelson March 26, 2014 at 8:51 pm #

    I can say that so far what I was doing was going to a location, just shoot a few photos and then leave. Now that I have a better cam and when it will warm a little here, I will go for light first meaning that I will go at sundown or sunset. Also I think you can go to the same place a few time and get different picture depending the time of the day you go.

    Also what is going to be new for me is photo with long exposure, something I never did because I had no tripod.

    Some locations will offer more potential than others for good picture, but I think every location has something to offer, sometime you just need to frame it differently

    • seeingspotsphoto March 28, 2014 at 5:16 pm #

      I like your outlook on things….I agree 100%, most places have potential, you just need to find it. Actually, on April 1 I’ll be announcing a 10 minute photo challenge my photo friends and I like to host periodically, with that same idea in mind. If you’re interested in joining us on it, chek back on April for the directions or email me at seespotsphoto at yahoo dot com and I’ll send you the info!

      • Nelson March 28, 2014 at 11:42 pm #

        That challenge seems interesting, I’ll sure check that on your blog in April

      • seeingspotsphoto March 29, 2014 at 8:00 pm #

        I hope you join us! :-)

  5. lauramacky March 27, 2014 at 1:29 am #

    lovely photo

    • seeingspotsphoto March 28, 2014 at 5:11 pm #

      Thanks! :-) It was cold as heck out this night, but I’m glad I stayed!

  6. TW Tillery Photography March 27, 2014 at 7:37 am #

    Great shot. I like to mix it up sometimes I’ll wait for a shot others I’ll chase light. I usually always write down in a notebook where and when I am at if I see something that strikes me.

    • seeingspotsphoto March 28, 2014 at 5:13 pm #

      Ah, a notebook is a good idea! I tend to use my photo catalog as my memory, but that doesn’t work for the shots I never get around to editing. (Speaking of…I think I have a pano from Vermont I meant to edit… haha)

  7. The Passion Dew March 29, 2014 at 1:06 pm #

    Beautiful landscape shot, reflection on the water surface are fantastic, and the star burst. Great work!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,263 other followers

