SNOW-tober

3 Nov

This past weekend, we had an extraordinary…and uncomfortable…event here in New England.  On Oct 29th, we had a foot of snow.  Now, anyone who is familiar with New England knows that snow is not remarkable.  In this case, however, the trees were still covered in the autumn fire that they’re famous for and the weight of the snow on leafy deciduous branches was too much.  Trees everywhere snapped, fell and crashed into power lines leaving 80% of the state in the dark.  As I said…uncomfortable.

So the question is, what does this have to do with photography (besides interrupting my self-imposed weekly blogging deadline)?  Well, as I sat in my cold, dark house for the 5th night waiting for electricity and heat to return, I thought about how people in my state were handling the adversity…  Some people were taking everything in stride.  Others were fist-fighting at the few gas stations with power over a gallon or two.  Personally, I don’t have much of a jab-hook combo so I’m trying to be realistic about the discomfort, knowing I will get through it.

After all, photography has prepared me for moments like this.

Time and again I’ve done awkward, unpleasant (and arguably stupid) things to get a perfect shot…and in each of those moments I told myself the same thing.  “Just get through it.”  I’ve slogged through swamps, I’ve stood in water so cold I’ve had tears streaming down my face while I composed an image, I’ve hung (stupidly) from rock ledges to fit the whole waterfall in the frame, I’ve gotten up too early, stayed up too late, sat out in the snow and the wind while my extremities went numb, climbed ¾ of a mountain on one working leg…the list goes on.  I learned long ago that in photography, you have to be willing to meet discomfort head-on.  You have to brave the things that most people won’t so that you can capture an image that is different, remarkable, memorable…and hopefully marketable!

 

Lake of the Clouds - Mt Washington on one leg

Lake of the Clouds - Mt Washington on one leg

Photography (and life in general) is full of adversity and discomfort.  How we proceed is a test of our character and our will.  The easiest things in life are rarely the best, and my best photographs has always required effort, creativity and mental fortitude.  My question to the other photographers out there is: What was your most uncomfortable, productive photo moment?

Product of the week: http://www.zazzle.com/lake_of_the_clouds_mug-168943196765871885

4 Responses to “SNOW-tober”

  1. Nathan Menkveld November 3, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    My most uncomfortable photography moment:
    I once broke through the Lake Michigan ice in the dead of winter while getting into position for a shot. I was fortunate not to fall into deep water, but my legs still became soaked (Which was very cold for the rest of the time i was out) and I hit my knee hard enough on the ice that is was difficult to walk the rest of the day.

  2. chameleonic November 3, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    such a beautiful b&w image!

Leave a Reply

