Words To Live By

12 Apr
“You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.” ~ Mae West

“You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.” ~ Mae West

This quote by Mae West brings so many images to mind of people living adventurously and loving deeply.  The one thing my mind kept going back to, though, was the opposite ends of the human spectrum – a grandparent and grandchild.  There is little else in life I value quite as much as family, whatever form that takes.  In my own life, my family has been a rock.  The love and respect we have for each other seems like one of the highlights of my own life, and characterizes what I think of as “doing it right”.

Unfortunately for me, my own grandparents live in another state. Haha  However, shortly after I began this quotes project, I had the opportunity to photograph a mother and her newborn.  Talk about an inspiring experience!  There is so much love between a mother and her newborn, and I knew that although there would be fewer wrinkles than I had originally envisioned, this was an opportunity to capture the spirit of Mae’s words.

I snuck this photo towards the end of the shoot.  I can’t tell you how pleased I was to show an obvious physical connection between the two of them, but also to include the wedding ring and the symbolic love between two parents as well.  In my mind, this truly captured the idea of having a full life.

What about you?  What do you think of with this quote?

We are still taking names for everyone who wants to sign on for our upcoming quotography project – all you need is a camera (any form), have a few quotes in mind to contribute, and a desire to stretch your imagination.  Creativity is the name of the game!  And best of all, it’s freeeeeee!!

If you’re interested in joining, send me an email seespotsphoto at yahoo dot com, leave a comment here or swing by my Facebook page and let me know.  We hope you’ll join us!

4 Responses to “Words To Live By”

  1. 8teen39 April 18, 2012 at 2:06 am #

    I’m in. All these years of hearing that quote in Mae West’s inimitable voice and inflection I never thought of a mother and child. But it works beautifully.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wearing Some Hats | seeingspotsphoto.com - April 25, 2012

    […] last but definitely not least…Quotography! For those of you quotographing…how’s it coming? If you have any questions, or need […]

Leave a Reply

