Musical Mood

10 May
Joe Brooks, Tyrone Wells

Joe Brooks, Tyrone Wells

I’m in a music sort of mood, so piggybacking off of the last quotography photo, I’m going to share one of the images from a concert I attended a few days back.  Keywords: Joe Brooks, Tyrone Wells, Fairfield Theatre

I think I’m drawn to music only slightly less than I’m drawn to photography, and see so many parallels between the two.  The way consumers treat the art are completely different, but ultimately, both are an expression of self.  And having success in both mediums means facing a lot of the same trials.

During Tyrone’s set, Joe Brooks came out to share a song.  I smiled from ear to ear for two reasons.  First, I think that for them, there is a certain pleasure that comes from doing what you truly love, and having people embrace what you put out into the world.  We all need to be appreciated.

Second, I thought about how wonderful it is when musicians share in each other’s joy.  As I said, arts are an expression of self, but it thrives a community setting.  We creatives thrive in an environment of support.  To see the two musicians making music together just reminded me of how great that experience is, and can be for all of you.

Knowing all that, can you see why this photo would be a smile-maker?

If you don’t know of either artist, check them out.  They may not be your cup of tea, but you have to respect that they are willing to put themselves out there every night.

To see more images from the concert, check out my Facebook page – the full album lives there.  Oh, and hit the Like button please! =)

5 Responses to “Musical Mood”

  1. David Pasillas May 10, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    I remember a few years ago my mom saw Tyrone Wells at a farmers market out here and bought his cd. She was impressed. Hes definitely got a good voice.

    I think theres a special connection between music and photography, but I really haven’t been able to put my finger on what it is yet. Some fantastic photographers are, or were, also musicians. Did you ever see Ansel Adams playing piano? I’ll have to share the link with you later.

    • seeingspotsphoto May 11, 2012 at 3:01 am #

      I haven’t seen that, but would love to!

      I agree, music just speaks to me with almost the same intensity that I feel a need for photography in my life.

      I’m glad you’ve heard of Tyrone before. haha I tend to like music that generally doesn’t chart on top 40, so it’s exciting when people know who I’m talking about. haha

      • David Pasillas May 11, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

        Top 40 sucks. I don’t even listen to FM radio. What the hell is a Bieber?

      • seeingspotsphoto May 13, 2012 at 3:20 am #

        hahaha I believe its defined as a boy with a woman’s haircut.

  2. Jeremy May 14, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    Well said! You said it all, nothing left to say, so why am I still typing? I’ll stop. Good by! 😉

Leave a Reply

