Welcome to Connecticut

19 May
Gas(less) Pumps

Gas(less) Pumps

I took a drive to Rhode Island the other day in hopes of catching a super awesome sunset by a lighthouse I discovered online.  That didn’t turn out quite the way I had hoped as everything around the island was bright and beautiful, but the area directly above the lighthouse was covered in dense fog.  I made the best of what I was dealt, of course, and will definitely share with you in the near future. 🙂

Despite the weather playing tricks on me, I did stumble upon a gem right on the CT/RI border.  This little gas station – long since closed – had so much character to it.  The light was dim (to say the least) but it was the perfect excuse to play with my new f/1.8 lens.

This is the first angle I tried. I envisioned an image with lots of texture and an antique feel to suit the subject matter. What do you think of the final photo?

11 Responses to “Welcome to Connecticut”

  1. Ricardo Vilela May 19, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    Like a scene movie. Well done, nice shot.

    • seeingspotsphoto May 19, 2012 at 1:10 am #

      Thank you, Ricardo! I envision this one in a scary movie…dark road, low on gas and the gas station has been closed for years! haha

  2. nonoymanga May 19, 2012 at 1:21 am #

    I can see the taste of “Nostalgia” thanks for sharing Nonoy Manga

  3. unsouthernbelle May 19, 2012 at 2:03 am #

    Fortunately when one photo doesn’t work out , another interesting one appears. Love old gas stations !

    • seeingspotsphoto May 20, 2012 at 1:09 am #

      Right! It reminded me of the quote, “Happy people don’t have the best of everything, they make the best of everything”. =)

      • unsouthernbelle May 20, 2012 at 3:38 am #

        They said it better. I can’t honestly say that I don’t get frustrated if an idea doesn’t work but I also appreciate serendipity.

  4. luv2shootpics May 21, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    I was looking to see what the price of gas was when these pumps were turned off!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Another Look… | seeingspotsphoto.com - May 20, 2012

    […] Post navigation ← Previous […]

  2. Long Exposures | seeingspotsphoto.com - May 21, 2012

    […] and long exposure gave me plenty of data in the final image.  (See the final edit of this photo here.) Settings: f/1.8, 8 […]

  3. Nick Exposed :: Long Exposures | Nick Exposed - May 21, 2012

    […] and long exposure gave me plenty of data in the final image.  (See the final edit of this photohere.) Settings: f/1.8, 8 seconds Continue Reading Article Here Dont forget to send and email to […]

Leave a Reply

