Another Look…

20 May
HDR Pumps

HDR Pumps

Often, I will take the same or similar images and process them in more than one way to compare the results.  It has turned out to be a great learning tool for me.  After a little practice with any given technique, I can more easily visualize the effect an editing decision will make ahead of time.  For me, that had lead to more efficient shooting, as I can create a RAW image that falls more in line with the finished product.

Yesterday’s post was an image of abandoned gas pumps, to which I added texture and a vintage color balance.

Today, I tried the same pumps from a different angle.  This version was processed as an HDR image, and the colors were destaurated.  The end result is slightly different, but still has a nostalgic feel to it.  Obviously, it had a bit more in the way of tonal range so will have less of a “Polaroid” feel to it.  That being said, the desaturated colors still remind me of a time when black and white TVs ruled the world. =)

When you take an image for yourself, editing choices become a matter of taste.  So I wonder, which one do you guys like better?

15 Responses to “Another Look…”

  1. David Pasillas May 20, 2012 at 1:41 am #

    Can you guess which one Mr. HDR likes better?

  2. onelifethislife May 20, 2012 at 3:06 am #

    I really like the HDR better!

    • seeingspotsphoto May 21, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

      Thank you! I definitely like this composition better on this one, but I was unsure of the edit. This feedback is great!

  3. rumpydog May 20, 2012 at 3:11 am #

    I think I like this one better.

    • seeingspotsphoto May 21, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

      Thank you! But the question is…is it the composition or the tonal range? 😉

      • rumpydog May 21, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

        I dunno…. I just think the angle tells a better story.

      • seeingspotsphoto May 21, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

        I agree 100% Thank you for the feedback. =)

  4. Anne Camille May 20, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    I like the composition of the second shot better, but, although it’s a close call, I think I like the tonal qualities of the first shot better.

  5. vsrartworks May 20, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    I like this one the best! Both composition and color tones are great.

  6. Jeremy May 21, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    Love it! It doesn’t even look HDR!

    • seeingspotsphoto May 21, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      Thanks Jeremy! Really, how “HDR” something looks is generally a matter of taste on the part of the person editing. 🙂

      • Jeremy May 22, 2012 at 2:21 am #

        sometimes I like it, sometimes I don’t. But when I can’t tell, thats my fav 🙂

Leave a Reply

