Musings

30 May
Beavertail Lighthouse - RI

Beavertail Lighthouse – RI

Let me start by saying, I’m not a “water” person.  I’m definitely an “I like my feet to be on solid ground, where sharks and alligators can’t eat me” kind of person.  I am also an “I almost had a panic attack while kayaking the other day” when my friend pointed out a snapping turtle in the water near us.

That being said, as much as I love being dry, I am drawn to be close to the water. It’s a powerful, beautiful force of nature and it makes a great addition to most photos.
Being at Niagara this weekend reminded me of how incredible, impressive and intense water can be.  There is a spot on the American side (in the Cave of the Winds) where you can stand under just a sliver of the Bridal Veil Falls.  The water slams into your skin, and the wind from the falls pushes you around on the deck – it is an experience that always takes my breath away.

As I walked away from the Bridal Veil this weekend, I turned to my friend and explained my feelings about water.  I don’t love the idea of being in it, but boy do I respect it.  And I love, love, love to photograph it in its various forms.  In fact, in the next few blog posts, you will definitely see some photos from the weekend.  But first…!

Today’s photo is one I’ve been sitting on for a few weeks.  It wasn’t what I envisioned when I drove to the coast in Rhode Island to take photos.  I have hopes of a colorful sunset on the horizon, rock formations in the foreground, leading lines, and somewhere in there, a lighthouse.  What I got was fog.  And some crazy powerful waves.  And lots of wind.  And raindrops on my camera lens.  And dangerous footing.  And about an hour of reflection – when nature acts up, it reminds me that we are just small (but mighty!) creatures in a gigantic (amazing, beautiful, wonderful!) world.

As I’ve had time away from the photo, it’s grown on me.  It is a pano, with only the rocks processed for HDR.  This was taken around 8:45pm, so obviously long exposure was used.  Also, as us photographers all know, the details make the shot.  It took me a few versions of this image before I realized I was missing the light from the lighthouse.  With it being socked in, I was hard to make out exactly what it was without the light so I had to begin counting the seconds per rotation.  Seven seconds per revolution, two second timer to allow the vibrations from my finger to dissipate.  So I set my focus, and began counting…at five seconds, I’d press the shutter and hope for the best. =)

18 Responses to “Musings”

  1. Jeremy May 30, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    All I can say is wow!

    • seeingspotsphoto May 30, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

      Thanks Jeremy! I truly wasn’t sure about this photo, so the feedback is definitely appreciated. 🙂

  2. wheretowillie May 30, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    only the rocks in HDR?! why not the whole thing?! hahaha 😀

    • seeingspotsphoto May 30, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

      Well it started as allll HDR but I masked out the sky because it didn’t add anything and I wanted less noise. Then I masked the water for the same reason. Before I knew it, only the rocks survived. Lol but seriously, it made the rocks look great. Haha

  3. Nick Mayo May 30, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

    I on the other hand LOVE LOVE LOVE being in the water!! But thats enough about me 😉 Im glad this pic ended up growing on you! Ive been waiting for you to post it so I could hit the like button haha.

    • seeingspotsphoto May 30, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

      I had been thinking of using it as a long exposure submission, hence the delay. But I figure…I still have a day or two to create an image so… 😉

      • Nick Mayo May 31, 2012 at 3:16 am #

        Haha way to push yourself 🙂

      • seeingspotsphoto May 31, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

        I came to the same conclusion. Haha I have an idea that will push me though, just need to find a moment! 🙂

  4. 8teen39 May 30, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    I hit the “like” button only because there was no “love” button- and that’s a bit of overkill anyway. So, let’s just say I like it extraordinarilly alot. Which is probably not even a word. Extraordinarilly. Or if it is I probably spelled it wrong.

    • seeingspotsphoto May 30, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

      Wow! Thank you for the extraordinarilly kind words! 🙂 I truly wasn’t sure about this image, so this feedback is very reassuring. I appreciate it!

      And a “love it” button!! Super genius! I’d lobby for that! Haha

  5. Xandré Verkes May 31, 2012 at 5:52 am #

    I’m exactly the same – I don’t like getting wet (swimming and stuff not my favourite thing ever…) – but I love the presence of water – any kind: sea, dam, river, rain, feature etc…. great shot!! 🙂 **

    • seeingspotsphoto May 31, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      Yes! Water really improves most shots…except when its on your lens. Lol

      Thank you for the feedback. 🙂

  6. JennyO May 31, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    LOL I totally hear you on the water fears … my husband literally shoved me in to swim with the dolphins and I had a blast but I’m still very respectful of the power of all that is and lives in the ocean. I’m really excited to see this photo – we will be traveling to RI In the next two weeks and my Mom is counting on me and my photography ‘skills’ [ I hope I can make her proud ] and we are going on a lighthouse adventure. This is gorgeous, I love the timer explanation too!

    • seeingspotsphoto May 31, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      Oooohhhh, I also swam w dolphins and it was one of the few water experiences that I would 100% do again. I swam w sting rays and was terrified, and went snorkling with a baracuda (uninvited)…no thanks! Haha

      That particular lighthouse is in Beavertail Park, there is another great one in Newport called Castle Hill which is close! Please post what you take, I would love to see them! 🙂

  7. David Pasillas May 31, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    Nice story behind the shot. Someone needs a remote for her bday.

    • seeingspotsphoto May 31, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      Yes please! 😉 I have one for my old camera, but it doesn’t work w the new camera.

      • David Pasillas May 31, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

        I got lucky. My buddy gave me his remote since he has a real job and no time for photography.

      • seeingspotsphoto May 31, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

        Very lucky! Next free one you find is mine, ok? 😉

Leave a Reply

