Hot Wheels

31 May

So I was wandering around Toronto this past weekend, and made a pretty spectacular find.  If you know me, you know I love taking photos of bikes.  I’m a peace loving, planet hugging hippie at heart, and it makes me smile to see people buring calories to get around town.  It never occurred to me, though, that just as some people need “personalized license plates” to find their car in a busy parking lot, some people need personalized bikes to find their ride on a busy…ummm…parking fence? =)

Hot (Pink) Wheels - Toronto, ON, CA

Hot (Pink) Wheels – Toronto, ON, CA

This particular bike photo was processed with HDR, and then with an additional layer of one of the original images blended in luminocity to help bring out a little detail in the tree bark and bricks. (That tip was from my friend David, who happens to be an iphoneographer extraordinaire!)

I generally find at least one bike where ever I go, and have the beginnings of a pretty good collection.  I figure, if all else fails and I can’t find inspiration anywhere else, I still have the bike.

Here are a few others from previous trips. =)

Wrong Way Bike - New Orleans, LA

Wrong Way Bike – New Orleans, LA

Bike, B & W film - Provincetown, MA

Bike, B & W film – Provincetown, MA

12 Responses to “Hot Wheels”

  1. hidupituseni May 31, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    Reblogged this on hidupituseni and commented:
    salam kenal..

  2. David Pasillas June 1, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    I have a feeling the owner of the bike has matching hot pink lipstick too.

  3. miltonjohns June 1, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    Great image. 🙂

  4. The Wanderlust Gene June 1, 2012 at 2:08 am #

    Shocking, subtle, clever advertising – it sure draws your attention to the shop window!

  5. Jeremy June 1, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    Wow, was that pink bike for riding?? Looks like its just art!

    • seeingspotsphoto June 4, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

      haha I think it was decorative. But it’s the kind of decoration I like!

  6. lightswimming June 4, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    Not an actual bike: Just sat still too long next to a pink spraypainter…

    • seeingspotsphoto June 4, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

      Agreed! There seemed to be a lot of “recycled” modes of transportation in Toronto. We also saw a car that had been turned into a giant planter, and was being re-painted as a mosaic. It was pretty cool, though it did occur to me that filling it with dirt while it was parked on the street might not go over so well with the local police. haha

Leave a Reply

