Sunset and a Smile

7 Jun
Sky on Fire

Sky on Fire

I came from a B&W film background, where the color of the sky doesn’t matter.  To have success as a B&W photog, you need to train your eyes to see things like texture, lines and composition.

Whenever I’m teaching a new student, I remind them that there has to be more to a photo than just a pretty sunset.  Light is so very important, but it is not the only thing that goes into making a great photograph.

That being said, some sunsets are just too spectacular not to preserve!  This was taken a while ago, but it makes me smiile every time I see it.  I hope you enjoy it as well! 🙂

Product of the day: http://www.zazzle.com/sunset_mug-168051273144038380

16 Responses to “Sunset and a Smile”

  1. andreashesse June 7, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    wow, amazing colors! Great shot!

    • seeingspotsphoto June 7, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

      Thank you! It truly was an amazing sunset. I actually took this right outside of work…I just happened to have my camera in my car. (aka…I never go anywhere without it! haha)

  2. David Pasillas June 7, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    Glad I’m not the only old fart that started with BW film.

    • seeingspotsphoto June 7, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

      “Old” is a strong word!

      • David Pasillas June 7, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

        Haha. What if you use airquotes when saying “old.” Is that better?

      • seeingspotsphoto June 7, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

        I think that depends on if you are “Ma’am-ing” me while you do it. Lol

  3. 8teen39 June 7, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    You’re not the only “old fart” (although i wouldn’t classify Shannon in the same league- or age range- as us). I started with B&W, too. Trouble is, I forgot everything I learned. Thank you, Shannon, for your reminder about texture, lines, and composition.

    • seeingspotsphoto June 7, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

      Haha thank you!! At least someone thinks I’m young(ish) and spry still! 😉 And you are very welcome for the reminder! I think its easy to fall in love with color and forget the basics…we all fall into that trap. I find that images with the most impact are multi-dimensional though, so sometimes I challenge myself to shoot for B&W, even though I rarely use film anymore. Practice keeps things fresh. 🙂

  4. luv2shootpics June 7, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    LOL, old is a vague word, babies are 1 year old, but look at it this way, “old farts have lost there odor!” Good thing your not a new one!

  5. The Wanderlust Gene June 7, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    It is, as you say, not just any sunset! Extraordinary how the light has intensified, the further away from the sun the clouds are. Wonderful.

    • seeingspotsphoto June 7, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

      It truly was incredible! After stitching it, I did almost nothing to it!

  6. Nareen Luz Rivas June 9, 2012 at 3:49 am #

    This is a great photograph and as someone from the B & W days of photographing and printing, you really do train your eyes to see things differently from just another “pretty sunset”, but I agree with you. This shot was too gorgeous to not shoot in color.

Leave a Reply

