Room With a View

14 Jun
Room With a View

Room With a View

This past weekend, I took a nice photowalk with my good friend Jared of Ramsdell Photography.  Our topic du jour was “old mills”.  I can’t speak for all of New England, but our little corner of the region seems to be full of old textile mills that pretty much beg to be photographed.

This particular building was loaded with texture and color, but the thing my eyes kept going back to was the penthouse suite.

So what did I do?  Crawl through some brush, using my body to push it back from the camera lens while I contorted myself into a pretzel to see through the viewfinder on an low, upward facing camera (managing to avoid something that looked suspiciously like poison ivy at the same time!)

Maybe I should re-name it a “Yoga-walk”? 😉

14 Responses to “Room With a View”

  1. Jeremy June 14, 2012 at 1:33 am #

    Nice! Makes me want to get up close and personal w/ some old buildings i’ve seen 🙂

  2. The Wanderlust Gene June 14, 2012 at 1:36 am #

    The not so every day shot! Fabulous patina, and great point of view. Congratulations and brava for the contortions:)

    • seeingspotsphoto June 14, 2012 at 1:59 am #

      haha Thanks! As I was twisting myself awkwardly under the camera, I thought..”This better be worth it!” Thankfully, it worked out in the end. 🙂

      • The Wanderlust Gene June 14, 2012 at 3:08 am #

        I presume a little tripod would be out of the question on your shooting expeditions? 🙂

  3. laviebohemeart June 14, 2012 at 4:06 am #

    Wonderful image. I love old bars and rusted buildings!!! I would of done that same Yoga position! lol lol..

  4. Life & Sunshine June 14, 2012 at 4:09 am #

    great patina and texture, great photo 🙂

  5. Mr Bunny Chow June 14, 2012 at 7:40 am #

    just a thought would it not have been easier to lie on your back and take the photo upside down?

    • seeingspotsphoto June 14, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      Oh no! There was way too much poison ivy on the property to take a chance. Lol That could have ended miserably for me.

  6. spiderpaw June 24, 2012 at 3:02 am #

    Very Nice. Whatever it takes to get the shot I say.

    • seeingspotsphoto June 24, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

      So true! Photographers put themselves through a lot for their art sometimes. haha

Leave a Reply

