Wild Skies

26 Jun
Wild Skies

Wild Skies

To the left, the storm.  To the right, the clearing skies.

Yesterday I woke up to an intense lightning storm and the prediction of rain all day.  For most people that is greeted with grumbling and the occasional 4 letter word.  To me though, it’s an opportunity.  As I was driving to the day job, listening to the crash of thunder all around me, I started planning.

Connecticut isn’t a “flat” state.  I mean, don’t get me wrong…our mountains aren’t much more than foothills when compared to the west coast chain, but between them and our abundance of trees, they are enough to block a line of site.  If I was lucky, the storm would pass by 5pm and there would be some incredible colors and clouds.  I needed an open space to fully appreciate (and photograph) the show.

Off the top of my head, I could think of a few open farms towards the top of the state, but it is still a little early for most crops….and we all know how important a foreground is, right?  That left the bottom of the state…the coast line.

In Guildford, CT there is a little area called Grass Island that appears to be used, primarily, for boating, fishing, shelling and as a large bird nesting area.  As the name implies, it mostly covered in grass, though it does have one small building that has stood the test of time and weather. It also, I found out, has lots of biting insects. And not much cover from the intermittent lightning flashes. (Don’t try this at home, folks! Haha)

I spent a few hours exploring Grass Island, catching a wide variety of cloud shapes and colors on film.  Errrr…ummm…on sensor.  Sitting under the ever-changing sky was inspiring.  It was a beautiful, powerful (and buggy show)!

11 Responses to “Wild Skies”

  1. photosfromtheloonybin June 26, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

    Beautiful dramatic shot!!

    • seeingspotsphoto June 26, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

      It was great to see in person…a reminder of how powerful Mother Nature can be!

  2. Jake June 26, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    A nice haunting and visceral image…

  3. David Pasillas June 26, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    I keep forgetting to put bug spray in my camera bag. Doing it now!

    • seeingspotsphoto June 26, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

      hahaha Glad you got something out of today’s post. haha

  4. spiderpaw June 27, 2012 at 3:45 am #

    Perfect shot. The contrast in the colors of the beach and sky are nice.

    • seeingspotsphoto June 27, 2012 at 4:39 am #

      Thank you, Lionel! I give Mother Nature about 90% of the credit on this one, but I’m not going to turn away that last 10% of appreciation for myself. 😉

  5. Nareen Luz Rivas June 29, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    Love this photograph. Great perspective!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Let’s Play a Game! « SeeingSpotsPhoto.com - June 27, 2012

    […] few days ago, I took a trip to Grass Island (read more about that here) in Guilford, CT.  This old structure, from what I can tell, has been around for a while, taking […]

Leave a Reply

