Let’s Play a Game!

27 Jun
The House on Grass Island

The House on Grass Island

Beach House

Beach House

A few days ago, I took a trip to Grass Island (read more about that here) in Guilford, CT.  This old structure, from what I can tell, has been around for a while, taking the abuse of weather and time like a champ.  The rapidly changing light, colors and shifting clouds behind this tough old building made it a must-photo scene. 🙂

So where does the game part come in?

My question to you…  Do you think one or both of these are processed as an HDR shot? Yes? Or no?  Explain?

Answer will be revealed tomorrow…Get your votes in now! 😉

13 Responses to “Let’s Play a Game!”

  1. Xandré Verkes June 27, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    At first glance not one of them looked like a typical HDR to me…. – but I’m going with the first photo – the detail in the grass is more obvious & the saturation is upped!!! Hahaha… it is going to be super funny if I’m wrong!!! 😀 – but, that’s how it looks to me!!! 😉 **

  2. David Pasillas June 27, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    I say both are. Grass in first and clouds in second make me think yes. Oh, and the HDR tag and category.

  3. Jeremy June 27, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    I would guess “no” to both. There doesn seem to be any real shawdows, do I’m assuming your subjects were in the shade of some high clouds and that it was Late afternoon, do you could expose for the building and the rest was exposed properly or close to it. It seems that very little, if any, post processing was done. That’s my guess!

  4. KrisDragun June 27, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    I’m saying the first one due to the saturation, but I’m hesitant. And by the way, I love the angle of the first one, really draws you in!

  5. seeingspotsphoto June 27, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    Good thought process for those guesses…keep ’em coming. 😉

  6. photosfromtheloonybin June 27, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    I must say that I am just starting to learn about HDR, but I would have to agree with David and say both.

  7. jwils19 June 27, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    Oh WOW small world! That is the old red schoolhouse down neck road, then circle beach! My grandparent’s house used to be at the end of neck road on the river there, and me and my cousins and my grandfather used to drag a net for shiners right there at that building! I live in toronto, ontario now, but once a year or so we go to madison / guilford to visit the shore and maybe catch some bluecrabs…I was standing right there at that old house just last summer and we had a quick swim there….Thank you so much for this unexpected nostalgia moment!

    • seeingspotsphoto June 27, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

      That’s exactly right! Small world! I’m not going to lie…I’m pretty excited that you actually have memories here. That’s really what makes photos so special for me…then emotional connections, you know? =)

      Also, I just made my first trip to Toronto about a month ago! Small world x 2! haha

      • jwils19 June 27, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

        That is so crazy! Aw man I miss that place…If I find an old picture of it i’ll post it

      • seeingspotsphoto June 27, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

        If you do, please link to me so I can see it! =)

  8. jwils19 June 27, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    I was walking out to that place as long as 30 years ago…..a few years ago it was getting pretty run down and was totally covered in graffiti, but since then someone has re-painted it which is nice.

  9. Regina (Gina) Arnold June 28, 2012 at 2:20 am #

    Both are great images, but I’m going with the first one. I feel like I could just walk out that path to the house.

  10. Mr Bunny Chow June 28, 2012 at 8:45 am #

    I’d go with the second because of the clouds, but it could just as easlity be a longer exposure.

Leave a Reply

