Music Therapy

6 Jul

Every female I know has done it.  There they are, listening to the radio, singing along at the top of their lungs (maybe that’s just me??) and before the last note fades, they are telling you that this song felt like it was written just for them.

[Note:] For all you aspiring songwriters out there… I cannot overstate the importance of lyrics to women, and since they make up over 50% of the world’s population…well, it’s something to think about! [end note]

Lyric Quotograph (Ships in the Night by Mat Kearney)

Lyric Quotograph (Ships in the Night by Mat Kearney)

Music is a medium through which the artist can give the consumer an emotional experience, showing them the highs and the lows of their own journey (or of the people around them) and telling stories so that the listener can learn from another’s successes and mistakes.  This is not unlike a great photo where the viewer connects to the image.  The best art, in whatever form, resonates with the consumer and their life experiences.

For me, the obvious choice for my Scavenger Hunt / Lyric Quotograph was a Mat Kearney tune.  The first time I heard “Ships in the Night” by Mat Kearney, I felt a shiver go up my spine.  (Video here, Lyrics here) While I didn’t think that the song was written for me in particular, I certainly felt like I could relate.  I felt like anyone who had ever been in a relationship, and dealt with the struggles that come along with a relationship, could understand.

Obviously, there is a lot of room for interpretation in art, but to me, Ships in the Night represents something I think every couple goes through to some extent.  In my opinion, it’s not a reflection on the couple, but rather, a statement about human nature and our ability to become desensitized to things.  Even strong couples face this, but it is something I think the healthiest of relationships work hard to guard against.  In no particular order, but all related:

-We begin to take things for granted (and everyone wants to be appreciated)
-We don’t take a walk in his or her shoes (and if you can’t understand where he or she is coming from, you won’t be willing to work towards fulfilling their needs)
-We don’t put the relationship first (which can lead to resentment, and an emotional disconnect)

To me, this song is a great reminder that when dealing with the insignificant day-to-day stuff, it’s generally better to be happy than to be right. It’s also a strong reminder that relationships aren’t always easy or comfortable, but for the right person, we will endure the lows while we grow together towards something better.

“I’m gonna find my way, back to your side.” …Smile-maker.

Leave a Reply

