Silence

9 Jul
The Sound of Silence

The Sound of Silence

I think one of the best things about the monthly collaborative photo challenges that I co-host with Nick at Nick Exposed is that it encourages us to think outside of the box.  Not every idea we come up with will be a home run, but the experience we gain will be incrementally invaluable.

For June’s challenge – a photo Scavenger Hunt – the category of “Silence” had me scratching my head.  It was another scenario where we had to create an image of an intanglible concept.

To me, the opposite of silence is communication, and visual communication is the written…um…in this case, typed…word.  Therefore, the visual yin to communication’s yang is a blank sheet.  The unwritten.

**Speaking of photo challenges, as a reminder for those of you participating in the 10-Minute-Mini-Challenge that I am hosting with Will, make sure to have your entries in to wheretowillie@gmail.com by midnight CST tomorrow night!

8 Responses to “Silence”

  1. Regina (Gina) Arnold July 9, 2012 at 2:56 am #

    Now that is one clever image … depicts silence perfectly.

    • seeingspotsphoto July 9, 2012 at 3:00 am #

      Why thank you! =) I wasn’t sure how this one would be received. haha

  2. nonoymanga July 9, 2012 at 3:17 am #

    A technology of the old world!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

  3. Nareen Luz Rivas July 10, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    Really like what this image stands for. I love typewriters. Reminds me of days of yore and my grandfather : )

    • seeingspotsphoto July 10, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

      I’m right there with you! I love the look of old typewriters. I think I picked that one up at a yard sale years ago, but as you can see, except for a little dust I’ve tried to keep it in good shape. =)

  4. 8teen39 July 10, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Love the shot but to me it’s a bit depressing as that’s pretty much where my writing is at the moment. A blank page. A brick wall. Great imagery, though!

    • seeingspotsphoto July 10, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

      Oh no! Well, maybe it’s time to try some creative writing challenges, just like the photo challenges we’ve been co-hosting. It may not get you all of the way there, but it could at least get the creative juices flowing!

  5. Jeremy July 12, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    Great interpretation of the subject

Leave a Reply

