Interview with Patrick Di Fruscia

10 Jul

A few weeks ago, I reached out to Patrick Di Fruscia, a well-known artist who is described as a “World Visionary Fine Art Nature & Landscape Photographer”….perhaps you’ve heard of him? 😉

For those of you who don’t know of him, Patrick has been working as a landscape and nature photographer for many years, creating colorful and emotional images that draw the viewer in.  He has a strong appreciation for the beauty of the world around us and strives to share that with his followers.

One of the things I think that drew me to Patrick’s work wasn’t just the images themselves, but the postive energy he put into the world.  He also seemed to be supportive and encouraging in all of the interactions he had with his fans.  That, to me, was notable.  In a culture of “no’s” and negativity, Patrick seemed to be saying “yes”.  Who better to give his thoughts on achieving success?  And who better to share those thoughts with than my fellow creatives? 🙂

We all, in one way or another, struggle to figure out the how’s and why’s of making it as a photographer.  I asked Patrick for his opinion on what helped get him where he is today.  For more information about Patrick, you can read his Q&A sheet here…but first… An interview with Patrick Di Fruscia!

A quick version of the transition from an “average joe” lifestyle to a “landscape photographer” lifestyle. Did you rely on your own resources or did you have help (sponsors, etc)?

Well, you really have to do everything by yourself if you want things to happen.  Do not wait for that special someone to help you because that person will never come.  You have to be willing to do what it takes in order to get noticed.

Photography is very competitive and if you want to be recognized worldwide as an artist in your field and specialty, you need to work day in and day out until it happens. Fortunately, with the help of social medias this is something that can happen much faster than in the past, but you need to be careful of all the “noise” that comes along with the internet.  Beware social media’s ability to waste time and people’s ability to give opinions on your work.  Focus, Focus, Focus and do at least one thing everyday that will bring you closer to your goal.

Rough percentages (in your opinion) that go into success: education, persistence, patience, resources (money/time/etc), marketing, other.

I cannot really attribute a percentage to any of these.  I never had any photographic education, but I know this could be very helpful for some people.  My answer to this question is simply, you need to have 100% Love and Passion in what you are doing.  If you have that, you will do whatever is necessary to succeed…If you don’t, you will find excuses to justify why they aren’t.

What has been the most successful marketing avenue for you: publications, word of mouth, website, social media or other.

For now, definitely the internet and Social Medias.  It is the way of the future and it is free for everyone to take advantage of.

First experience being published?

To be honest I don’t really remember.  I know we should always remember our first time but I don’t…I guess it wasn’t that great 😉

What impact do your interactions with other professional photogs, such as your recent trip with Colby Brown and Ken Kaminesky, have on your success?

Back in 2006, I started a website called TimeCatcher.com. This was the first group of landscape photographers from around the world to join forces with the goal of displaying the beauty of our beautiful planet.  I must say, this venture helped me and the other members get recognized in some way in the industry.  Unfortunately, this project has died as most of us got too busy with personal projects.

Experiences like my last trip with Colby and Ken are great, but I would be very surprised if it has any impact whatsoever on our success individually.  Photographers are very independent individuals and if you want a cooperative projects to really work you must make sure that the project is one where all members share a common goal and are all invested in it equally. The minute it becomes one person’s project more than the others is the minute the project will slowly fade away.

Are there places you won’t go without company? Why?

There are some places I won’t go at all for security reasons.  The world is very big and there is no need to risk your life if a country’s situation is unstable.  Simply pick another destination.

Being a landscape photographer, I do take many risks in order to get the right shot or viewpoint.  It is always better if you have someone to watch your back in case something happens, but many times I have traveled alone and have enjoyed the experiences tremendously.

Best advice for budding landscape photogs?

You need create images that are emotional and carefully, artistically crafted.  Aim to create a feeling of inner peace and an awareness of the true beauty that lies everywhere around you.

In order to really appreciate the art of landscape photography, you have to learn to let things go, leave all of your troubles behind and make this wonderful experience all about you.  Do not – and I repeat do not – enter this field simply to get praises, ribbons, awards etc.  You might end up being discouraged and unmotivated by the numerous negative comments people say about your work.  You have to learn to use criticism to your advantage and strive to endlessly perfect your craft.  In all walks of life, all the greatest masters and successful people have endured a battery of negative, unconstructive comments and opinions but still made it on top because of only one thing…they believed in themselves. We are often worth a lot more than we think. So never despair, believe in yourself and let nature take its course.

Every time you are outdoors with your camera, stop for a minute and remember that all of the beauty you are witnessing is there just for you.  Nobody else in the world sees exactly what you see, feels exactly what you feel and will capture exactly what you will capture. This will make each moment you capture a very special one that you, and others cherish forever. Let your emotions guide you through this incredible journey.

Nature & Landscape Photography is for everyone.  You do not have to climb the highest mountains nor travel to far away, exotic places.  I am 100% confident that every single person has a multitude of eye-catching locations in close proximity to where they live and can enjoy this incredible passion to the fullest no matter where they are.  The beauty of nature is everywhere. I have taken many images in ordinary locations but the trick is to open your heart and soul so that you can really see the beauty of your surroundings.

I recall a time when a photographer from Singapore commented on one of my pictures.  They thought I was fortunate to live in an area so beautiful and that they wished to live in such a place to shoot landscape photography. The picture in question was taken in Ile Perrot, Quebec…a very ordinary location and when I say ordinary, I mean it; even people that are familiar with that place do not believe that it was taken there.  This just goes to show that by using your imagination you can easily create a work of art from a location most people would classify as nothing special.

I remember thinking…I would rather be in Singapore shooting instead of Ile Perrot, but quickly realized that like most people, (sometimes me included) that photographer was trying to justify the fact that he wasn’t shooting as much as he would love to.  It was an excuse to make him feel better.  If this is what you really want to do, and that you truly feel the passion inside of you, do not ever use excuses why you are not able to pursue your dream. Make it a point to get out there at least once a week. I am fully aware that with work, family and other commitments it is not always easy to find the time, but you have to do what will make you feel alive.

We are all born to create in various forms and I strongly believe that a man that cannot perform his passion will quickly feel like a man without a soul. Dr. Wayne W. Dyer says it so well when he states, “ Do not die with your music still in you.” (my favorite quote)  What he means is, do not die without accomplishing your passion or what you were born to do.  In our case we have to use the statement, “Do not die with your art still inside of you.”

Bring’em all out for the world to see and leave your footprints for generations to enjoy.

Do you have any current projects you want people to know about? Workshops?

Presently, I’m working hard towards opening up my first fine art gallery.  This is a long-term goal that I had set a while ago but I am confident it will happen soon.

As for workshops, I recently started pondering offering some, but I’m not totally sold on the idea just yet.  As an alternative for now, I started offering One-on-One Skype Consultations.  That has been pretty successful.  I love the one on one interaction with other fellow photographers.  If interested, you can read more about them here: http://natureismykingdom.com/workshops/


Best way for people to find you?

Pretty easy, I’m everywhere. 🙂  Stay Strong & Live with Passion
www.DiFrusciaPhotography.com
Follow me on Facebook: www.Facebook.com/DiFrusciaPhoto
Follow me on Google Plus: www.Gplus.to/DiFrusciaphotography
Follow me on Twitter: @DiFrusciaPhoto

16 Responses to “Interview with Patrick Di Fruscia”

  1. David Pasillas July 10, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    Really nice interview with good advice and very solid images.

    • seeingspotsphoto July 10, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

      Thank you! I find him to be very inspiring, so I was very excited to share with everyone here. Like, bursting at the seams excited. (But you know that already. haha)

    • Christopher Jackson October 31, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

      Patrick was a HUUUGE part of my learning curve as was so many. but he helps people to believe in themselves and the world would be a lousy place without him. Thanks Patrick!

      • seeingspotsphoto November 1, 2012 at 2:12 am #

        I’m sure he would be glad to hear he inspired you! =)

  2. Patrick Di Fruscia July 10, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    Thank you very much for caring about my work enough to interview me. 🙂 Means a lot

  3. Clint Losee July 10, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    Great interview! I’ve been inspired by his images since I first found them through Google+ and this gave more of an insight behind the artist and inspiration for myself to keep improving. Thank you!

    • seeingspotsphoto July 10, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

      That’s exactly how I found his work too! 🙂 I am so glad you got something out of the interview. Art and creativity make the work a better place on so many levels…if you feel inspired to create, then the interview was worth the effort!

  4. spiderpaw July 11, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Nice interview. Great job.

  5. Jeremy July 12, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    Great interview! Someday it’ll be you getting interviewed!

    • seeingspotsphoto July 13, 2012 at 2:20 am #

      haha Fingers crossed. 😉

      • Jeremy July 13, 2012 at 2:45 am #

        push comes to shove, i’ll interview you, once i figure out what to ask 🙂 But i’m sure NG will beat me too it!

      • seeingspotsphoto July 13, 2012 at 3:19 am #

        hahaha Well, I appreciate the implied compliment there, Jeremy. 🙂

  6. bulldogsturf July 24, 2012 at 4:40 am #

    This person knows what he is doing and a great interview.. one can but learn from experts of this nature… these photos are beyond my abilities but certainly within my wishes…

    • seeingspotsphoto July 24, 2012 at 4:49 am #

      I couldn’t agree more. I admire Patrick, and when I asked him about the interview, my hope was to inspire my readers. I’m really glad you enjoyed the interview. =)

Leave a Reply

