A Bit of Gratitude

11 Jul

When you’re motivated to succeed, it’s easy to lose the forest for the trees.  The stats, the likes, the shares…in today’s photography world, those details are a huge part of running a successful business.

When we start out, it’s easy to talk about why we love our hobby/art/passion.  The excitement is fresh and the accomplishments seem monumental.  Every photo we edit is a new adventure.  It’s the taste of success that changes things.  Accolades go hand in hand with goals, because they make our dreams seem that much more attainable.

While I do think it’s important to have a plan, with a set of incremental but reachable goals…I’ve also come to believe that stats aren’t everything.

In order to have a well-rounded life, every aspect of your life needs to be more than just the sum of other people’s assessments of you.  It’s so important to hold tight to the passion that led you down this road in the first place.  If we forget why we became photographers (or…insert passion of your choice), if it loses its shine…then in the end, we devalue the experience.

With that in mind, I wanted to express a little gratitude both to you, and to the universe.

When I reflect back on my photography career, I can see – little by little – my personal growth.  I still have a long way to go, and at times that seems overwhelming.  But in those moments, I do two things.  First, I remember to appreciate the things I have accomplished.  At one point, the milestones I’ve already passed seemed insurmountable, but I passed them.  Second, I remind myself that photography is supposed to be a lifelong process.  It is something you never fully master…which means I will have something to keep me busy for years to come.  No matter how I old I am, I will never need to learn how to knit.  Or play bridge. 😉

Beyond my own personal growth, I am thankful for the experiences and interactions that have come as a result of my camera.  The friendships I’ve built, the conversations we have, the perks of chatting with our well-known peers….  They are all moments I cherish.

In particular, I’m appreciative of our creative community.  Time and again, our collaborations projects are knocked out of the park by your creative interpretations and unique perspectives.  It truly impresses me, and I’m happy to be a co-host for such inspiring collaborative efforts!

The Scavenger Hunt that I co-hosted with Nick from NickExposed, for those of you who don’t already know, was a smashing success!  We received over 100 image submissions, all of which can be viewed here. =)

The mini-challenge I am co-hosting with Will of wheretowillie was a ton of fun.  Seriously, you guys rock these things!  We gave you less than a week to wrap your head around the idea of the 10-Minute-Challenge and while the number of submissions was small, the quality of the submissions was mighty.  I’m in the process of sorting the images, so if you haven’t sent in your email, you still have a little time.  Key word being little!  Get them in asap to wheretowillie@gmail.com! 🙂

Three Sisters

Three Sisters

And…ANNNNDDD…as if that wasn’t enough!!!!!!??!!  I strongly recommend you keep your eyes peeled for an announcement later this week about next month’s challenge.  It’s going to be a skill-set month…the question is, what will we work on???  Hmmm???

As always, thank you all for both your continued support and feedback, and for creating memories with me and my other fellow creatives.

XOXO

Shannon

9 Responses to “A Bit of Gratitude”

  1. Alex Khoo July 11, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    Stunning image!

    • seeingspotsphoto July 12, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

      Thank you Alex. 🙂 I took that as part of the 10-Minute-Challenge I put up (basically you set a timer, go 10 minutes from your house and find something to shoot where ever you stop.) It was a great creative challenge!

      • Alex Khoo July 12, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

        Oh I see! Ok.. That sounds fun!

      • seeingspotsphoto July 12, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

        It can be. It’s just another way to challenge our creative self to really see the world around us. I’m sure you would agree, there is almost always something to photograph, its just a matter of looking for it. =)

      • Alex Khoo July 12, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

        Exactly! You need to have the “eye” for it!

  2. wheretowillie July 11, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    😀

  3. bulldogsturf July 24, 2012 at 4:36 am #

    Wow this is a fantastic photo… love the mist…

    • seeingspotsphoto July 24, 2012 at 4:52 am #

      It is a photo I took for one of the creative challenges I co-hosted. They’re great exercises for building different photo skills sets. That was the 10-Minute-Challenge.

Leave a Reply

