Busy Busy!

23 Jul

It’s been a few days since my last post… boy, oh boy, have I been busy!  My first priority has been finishing up a wedding edit and book.  It’s a time consuming process, to say the least….however, I’m on the tail end of it.  Now I can give the rest of my photo-life a little more attention.

I have a few other things in the works.  The last two weekends have included photo-trips, one within Connecticut and one, yesterday, to Rhode Island.  I have yet to download the images.  But I will.  And they will be awesome. Haha

A long time ago, someone gave me the advice of shooting with purpose, which really stuck with me.  In my life, this means finding a balance between having use options for images, and being flexible enough to allow an image to unfold.  For me, “use” can be a set idea or event – a portrait shoot, an event, etc – or a vague purpose that the images may apply to.  For example, if I’m bracketing for HDR the under-exposed bracket may also be used for this month’s silhouette collaborative project.  One of my 2nd tier photos from a shoot (something I took while in a place for another purpose, or something that I didn’t feel fit the theme of  the original shoot) may end up being perfect for something else – a postcard in my online store, an ongoing personal collection (such as my bike photos), or a teaching example for a blog post.

That being said, I’ve been working through a few projects this whole time, chipping away at image ideas in my few spare moments.  I’ve mentioned it before…these projects (both those that I host, and those that I involve myself in) are a steady source of inspiration for me.  If I’m free shooting – no set plan for an image, just shooting to create – I draw on those projects to help shape my creations.

For example, I stumbled upon a photo “Color Contest” through Ken Kaminesky (accomplished shooter, and one of the judges)…one of the colors was Yellow, and the description called for originality.  In other words, sunflowers were out.  I mulled it over, and decided (based on the fact that the contest is hosted by a travel company) that I wanted to shoot at a popular travel destination, and thought it would be meaningful on several levels to include the yellow dividing lines of a road within that tourist spot.  

While I knew for a week or so what I wanted to do, I had no idea where I would eventually do it.  I had a use, but not a moment.  However, having this (among other projects) in the back of my mind prepared me so that when the moment appeared, I was ready to create.

So…what I’m saying is…“Yes. I was croaching down in the middle of the street in Block Island, dodging traffic.” (Don’t try this at home, folks.)

Another project I’m working on is an “in-betweener” for August.  Obviously you are all aware of the project plans and help Nick and I put together every month (which we love!  Because you guys rock! :-D), but this month was my first time trying an “in-betweener” – a mini challenge I co-hosted with Will to keep the creative juices flowing.  It worked out so well, I got an invite by David Pasillas to help with another mini-challenge for August.

Did I mention Busy Busy!!?? 🙂

Just wanted to give y’all an update, and remind you to keep your silhouettes coming and keep your eyes peeled for some new photos.  I’ll try to find time to edit, download and share soon!!

XOXO
Shann

2 Responses to “Busy Busy!”

  1. Nareen Luz Rivas July 26, 2012 at 5:14 am #

    Isn’t summer supposed to be a time of leisure and relaxation? I’m in kind of the same photo boat as you so to speak, but I have a sneaking’ suspicion it revs up our photo synapses even more ; )

    • seeingspotsphoto July 27, 2012 at 12:11 am #

      I hope you’re right! The more inspiration and motivation to grow, the better! And every now and again, maybe a nap in between. haha

Leave a Reply

