This? Or That?

10 Aug

I can’t decide!  Which do YOU like better?? =)

Annisquam Light Pano (B&W)

Annisquam Light Pano (B&W)

 

Annisquam Light Pano

Annisquam Light Pano

It bothered me all night, and into today so I figured I should take a poll!  Feedback is appreciated!

 

63 Responses to “This? Or That?”

  1. bulldogsturf August 10, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    Colour…

  2. Village Photography August 10, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    Well, I understand your dilemma. I have struggled with the same problem when creating B&W versions. In this case just looking at the smaller images in the post I pick the colour one for sure. Then I looked at the larger versions and the B&W is quite nice. To make my final decision I imagined which I would prefer to see hanging on a wall and I think the colour one is my favorite. I love the texture and colour in the rock. Beautiful shot – Well done!

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      The old “wall art” test! haha Good point, Thank you!

  3. Rigel Ordinario August 10, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    These are both great. I like the vivid colors of the second, but there is a sort of dramatic flare to the first one. I rarely see colored pictures of lighthouses, so I might go with the second one instead. 🙂

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

      That is true…a lot of the lighthouse shots end up in monochrome, don’t they? Well, last thing I want to do is blend in with the crowd. 😉

  4. pretzellogic August 10, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    for me, the colored version is more “alive” and has more depth than the other one.

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

      I think you’re right…thanks to all of the wonderful feedback I’ve been getting, it occurred to me that the grass needs a bit more contrast to create depth. =)

  5. Katie Pelletier August 10, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

    Color. Not enough contrast in the B&W to have the fine details like the boat in the water, stand out and have as much impact as it does in the color. Which…I LOVE by the way 🙂

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

      Thanks hun! You know I always appreciate your thoughtful feedback!

  6. Mr Bunny Chow August 10, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    Mono for me

  7. Nareen Luz Rivas August 10, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    I gravitated towards the BxW. The lighthouse for me in the BxW stands out more. The whole picture gives me a more nostalgic feel. Did you lightly “paint” the grass green in the black and white one and added a splash of color to the water? If you didn’t then I need my eyes checked out (or head LOL) but if you did add a subtle splash of color. It definitely works. Wonderful picture!

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

      haha You caught me…sometimes I don’t desaturate 100%. I think this has 97% of the color removed…just a hint of color to give your brain the idea of a blue sky and yellow-green seagrass. =)

  8. Xandré Verkes August 10, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    Each certainly has each own appeal…. But I think for me it’s colour!!! 🙂 **

  9. Meg August 10, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    Thanks for the like!

    I just had to put in my two cents. Although I love black and white pictures, I’m definitely voting for color here. It’s just so rich! Beautiful shot!

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      Thank you, Meg! I’m generally a B&W person too, but in this case I just couldn’t decide. The feedback has been helpful though!

  10. photosfromtheloonybin August 10, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    It’s funny. Nine times out of ten I will always pick the colour photo, but this time I think the B&W appeals to me more. I’m not sure exactly why, but I think there is more mood and atmosphere in the B&W. Both are great shots though!

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      Isn’t it funny how color vs b&w can totally affect the mood of an image?? Thank you for the feedback!

  11. keholleman August 10, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    I vote color!

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      haha You vote has been tallied! Thank you for the feedback! I appreciate it. =)

  12. Carissa August 10, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    While the color is nice, I like the contrast and definition in the B&W.

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      Thank you for the feedback, Carissa! Very much appreciated!

  13. Mondrak August 10, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    Both good, but the B&W is too light, so it has to be the colour for me

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      A lot of people have mentioned they thought the B&W needs more contrast…I think a touch-up edit may be in order. =) Thank you for the thoughts!

      • Mondrak August 11, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

        You’re welcome. I’d love to see the adjustment 🙂

  14. kiaman2012 August 10, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    The color image is lovely. However, I prefer the B&W for this image.

  15. Nina Koydl August 10, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    Definitely the colored one! 🙂

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

      Thank you, Nina! The feedback is appreciated. =)

      • Nina Koydl August 11, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

        You’re Welcome! 🙂

  16. Where God Takes Me August 10, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    I like the B&W. The definition jumps out at me. The blues in the color are lovely but to me they seem to subdue the photo slightly.

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

      haha I can’t tell you show much a struggled with the color on this one. I spent a long time trying different saturation levels…too much blue, not enough blue…ugh…dang it, I’ll just take all of the color out…wait…but maybe I like the blue in the sky…

      Thank you for the feedback!

  17. Val Bridge Digital Photography Biz August 10, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

    Yes… you are right.. it is a dilemma…there has to be some magic somewhere..for me on this one it is colour…mainly as the green foreground captures the eye then leads it into the image…just saying..

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

      Another photog-friend mentioned how important she thought the grass was to the image too! Thank you so much for the thoughtful reply! I appreciate it!

  18. Photography Journal Blog August 11, 2012 at 12:51 am #

    My vote would be for color 🙂

  19. 12thsonoflama August 11, 2012 at 4:29 am #

    I liked immediately the B&W one and much more than the color. HOWEVER, when I clicked on them and looked large I like the color better. I agree with the comment earlier on not enough definition for the B&W – the color is really nice in the ‘bigger’ format.

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      Isn’t funny how the size of an image can change our opinions? I ran into that same scenario a few weeks back with another sailboat photo I was working on.

      I think I may try to touch up the contrast on the B&W version to give a bit more definition. Thank you for the feedback!

  20. Ines August 11, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    I prefer the color version, because I’m more in a summer mode right now 😉 Anyway, I like B&W when it has a lot of contrast and when it is used to mask some distractions of the image.

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

      Everyone has been so generous on their feedback, which I really appreciate! I think I may try to touch up the contrast on the B&W version to give a bit more definition.

      Thanks, Ines!!

  21. photobypawelp August 11, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    Like them both. In B&W I would play more with contrast, but that’s just mine personal thought 😉

    • seeingspotsphoto August 11, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

      I really appreciate the feedback, Pawel! I will have to go back and thoch up the contast in the B&W, particularly (I think) in the grass to help give a little more definition. =)

      Thanks!!

  22. lightswimming August 11, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    no need to pick just one 🙂

  23. spiderpaw August 11, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    B/W

  24. Inga August 12, 2012 at 1:32 am #

    Love the colored version

  25. LCPhotography August 12, 2012 at 3:46 am #

    I really like the B/W. But I’m a sucker for Black and White landscapes.

  26. Stephen G. Hipperson August 12, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    I’m sorry but I only ever say what I think.
    So…. I’m not sure that the composition itself is very strong. We have two key points of interest both of which are at either end of the frame – so our eyes are tending to toggle between the two, which makes for uncomfortable viewing – I’m not sure the space between the sail boat and the lighthouse has sufficient ‘power’ to make us pause a while and thus be a link.

    • seeingspotsphoto August 12, 2012 at 11:51 am #

      No reason to be sorry for honesty. Thank you for your thoughts, I appreciate it. =)

  27. jaurbanphoto August 14, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    i vote for color, much more vibrant and warm… which is how I imagine it was when you were there.

    • seeingspotsphoto August 17, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

      It definitely was! I got a sunburn to prove it! haha Thank you for the feedback. =)

  28. occultoantonio August 14, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    B&W, very beatiful. i love lighthouses.

  29. rigmover August 21, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    Colour on this on, if it was a really stormy day B&W might have been better.

    • seeingspotsphoto August 21, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

      I can see that! The texture in storm clouds really pops as a B&W!

  30. Rachael September 4, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    b&W for me .

  31. Michael Perkins September 8, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    As pretty as the color is, the bleakness and loneliness of the terrain is better served by the smaller range of tones. Nice work either way.

Leave a Reply

