The First of Many Stories

6 Sep

I’m not going to lie, Chicago impressed me.  It’s cleaner and friendlier than a few other big cities I’ve been to, and while it is smelly…it’s a different kind of smell.  It doesn’t exactly grow on you, but you learn to ignore it pretty quickly. haha

Obviously, Will said something funny.

Obviously, Will said something funny.

We three (Will from WhereToWillie and Nick from Nick Exposed) met up in Millenium Park, then mosied on over to Navy Pier, got some deep dish…oh…wait…no we didn’t.  Every place had a 1-2 hr wait.  What I meant to say is, we got some fabulous Mexican margaritas food and had a RealLife+ hangout.

Pretty great, right?  How could we possibly fit more in??

Well, we did.  I mean, honestly, how often do I get to see these guys? =)

Eventually, we wandered over the river (don’t you worry, you’ll get to see photos of all of this stuff…whether you like it or not! haha) and back to Millenium Park to take some more photos of the Bean.  When it was less crowded darker.

The Cloud Gate (aka The Bean!)

The Cloud Gate (aka The Bean!)

Here’s the funny thing about taking night shots though…they need a tripod.  Fun fact about me…I happen to own a very nice tripod (that did not fit in my luggage).  Thankfully, Will proved that photo-chivalry is not dead.  He was kind enough to let both Nick and I have a few solid moments with the tripod…just me, a carbon fiber, a gigantic reflective kidney bean Cloud Gate and a bajillion tourists.  Not bad, if I do say so myself.

And I just did. =)

More photos to come, I promise!

8 Responses to “The First of Many Stories”

  1. The Wanderlust Gene September 6, 2012 at 6:35 am #

    It’s magical at night – I’m so glad Will lent you his tripod, otherwise I’d not have seen this aspect of the Bean.

    Funny about Chicago, isn’t it? Chicagoins (is that what they call themselves?) are pretty loyal about their city, but we don’t usually say London, Paris, New York, Chicago – and yet we should, in many ways. It has the most vibrant performing arts scene, and the most fantastic museums and galleries, and since I was there in the 70s, has embraced the lake to become a beautiful and sophisticated cityscape.

    By the way, what’s the smell you found unpleasant?

    • seeingspotsphoto September 6, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

      Haha all big cities have a smell…I think Chi’s smell is from the water.

      Such a great place tho, I really hope to go back at some point. 🙂

      I noticed you have a lot of Chi photos on your site…are you from there?

      • The Wanderlust Gene September 10, 2012 at 5:16 am #

        “Chi” photos? I’m an Australian, presently (till the end of January) living in Sri Lanka.

      • seeingspotsphoto September 11, 2012 at 12:57 am #

        Sorry, Chi = Chicago! 🙂 Both Australia and Sri Lanka seem so beautiful! You’re very lucky!

      • The Wanderlust Gene September 11, 2012 at 1:22 am #

        Yes, I am :).

  2. 12thsonoflama September 18, 2012 at 4:20 am #

    Glad you enjoyed my home city – hopefully you will be back and we will try to de-funkify the odor although I must be used to it because I never notice any smell (maybe because I grew up around Detroit?)

    • seeingspotsphoto September 19, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

      haha I’ve never been to Detroit, but if I consider it, I’ll have to remember this comment. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Extreme Lights on the Chicago River | Where to Willie - September 6, 2012

    […] from Seeing Spots Photography and Nick from Nick Exposed.  Shannon put up a nice little story here if you want to check it out.  As we wandered, we talked business, personal, cameras, and […]

Leave a Reply

