In Honor Of…

19 Sep

Talk Like a Pirate Day…today calls for a seascape!  This is a picture from the past weekend in Cape Cod.

Wood End Lighthouse - Cape Cod

Wood End Lighthouse – Cape Cod

Let me tell you a few things I learned while hiking to this lighthouse…a hike that involved a mile and a half walk over a breakwater across a bay and deep sand dunes.

First, I realized what a gigantic difference there is between high and low tides.  By the time low tide rolled around, someone’s moored kayak was literally hanging vertically down the side of the breakwater.

Second, those breakwaters are a rat and spider haven!!  And to be perfectly honest, the rats we saw had no swimmies or life jackets on.  Apparently, Cape Cod is home to the Michael Phelps’ of the rat world.

Third, flip-flops are not ideal hiking footwear.

And finally…it occurred to me that if a seagull lives in the bay…perhaps they should be called Bay-gulls? (Yes, I really did make that joke.  My friends obviously loved it. haha)

HAPPY TALK LIKE A PIRATE DAY, MATEYS!!

8 Responses to “In Honor Of…”

  1. Alastair September 19, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    Arrggghhhh Thart’s goood

  2. Village Photography September 19, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    Bay-gulls? – I’m Gull-able enough to believe it! ;-}

  3. lightswimming September 20, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    Arrr, them flip-flops are not approved pirate gear. Aye, me parrot concurs.

    • seeingspotsphoto September 20, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

      haha I love that people are getting into the spirit of TLaP day! I mean, really…who wouldn’t want to be a pirate? Scuuuuurrryyy, walkin’ da plank, eye patches…What’s not to love?? 😉

  4. Nareen Luz Rivas September 25, 2012 at 3:16 am #

    Oh my goodness. I had noooo idea about the rats. Had I known this when I visited Cape Cod years ago I would have NEVER gotten into the water. You are one brave lady. A true piratess I guess. Arr (or whatever pirates say ; )

    • seeingspotsphoto September 28, 2012 at 2:00 am #

      Yeah, I admit…once we realized they were there, I tried really hard not to think about the rats until we were off the jetty. haha

Leave a Reply

