Kindness Matters

10 Apr
Pfeiffer Beach Sunset - Big Sur

Pfeiffer Beach Sunset – Big Sur

The best portion of a good man’s life is his little, nameless, unremembered acts of kindness and of love. – William Wordsworth

One of the very best things, I think, about photography is the photo community. You guys aren’t just peers and supporters, many of you are also friends.

Before I left for California, I was texting back and forth with Nick Mayo of Nick Exposed, photo-friend extraordinaire. He asked if I would mind taking a few beach photos for him to use in some of his graphic design work. The obvious answer to a friendly favor request is YES!

To me, photography is an emotional, soul-enriching experience. It’s just another way to bring a little more beauty to the world and in this case, into the life of a person I care about. It’s part of a bigger philosophy, an idea that creativity improves the quality of life for the entire community.

My gift to Nick was a little thing, but in the end, it will be the kindnesses, the joys and moments of laughter, the friendship and love I’ve experienced that will determine the quality of the life I’ve lived. We are just a sum of our experiences and I intend to make the most out of my time while I’m here.

I read an excellent excerpt/quote a few days ago that really resonated with me…this guy is a bit more articulate and succinct than I am, so I’ll let him say it for me.

“One of the most spiritual things you can do is embrace your humanity. Connect with those around you today. Say “i love you”, “i’m sorry”, “i appreciate you”, “i’m proud of you”…whatever you’re feeling. Send random texts, write a cute note, embrace your truth and share it…cause a smile today for someone else…and give plenty of hugs.” ― Steve Maraboli, Life, the Truth, and Being Free

Make a positive impact on someone’s life today and remember to appreciate the small kindnesses given to you in return. (Ya hear that, David! This is me thanking you for your over-whelming kindness too! :-D)

XOXO
Shann

14 Responses to “Kindness Matters”

  1. photosfromtheloonybin April 10, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

    What a beautiful post :). I’m going to go hig a friend right now!

    • seeingspotsphoto April 10, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

      Free hugs are almost always appreciated! I fully support your decision. lol 🙂

      • photosfromtheloonybin April 10, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

        Oops, just saw that I obviously can’t type today :). I send a hug to you too!

      • seeingspotsphoto April 10, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

        Haha I knew what you meant! Thank you! ((Hugs))

  2. learningtolivedeliberately April 10, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

    this is perfect! I also love photography and nature! Great picture and well said! 🙂

    • seeingspotsphoto April 10, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

      Thank you! Glad you got something out of it! Make sure to share the love today. 🙂

  3. weedimageoftheday April 10, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

    Hugs to you and wishing you a beautiful, loving day!

  4. Nick Mayo April 10, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

    Shannon YOU ROCK!!!! Youve always been a magnificent friend!! Cant wait to get out shooting with you again (hopefully real soon… cough cough.. chicago 😉 )

  5. David Pasillas April 11, 2013 at 1:40 am #

    Aww, you’re welcome, Shannon.

  6. bulldog April 15, 2013 at 8:56 am #

    What a lovely thought provoking post today… now to get out there and make a few peoples day… thank you for the wake up call…

    • seeingspotsphoto April 16, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

      Gosh, especially today in the wake of the tragedy here in Boston, MA. 😦

Leave a Reply

