View From the Top

4 Sep

So…did I happen to mention I will be hiking Machu Picchu in Peru?  In less than a month??!!??  I’m pretty pumped, both on the “cross it off my bucket list” and the “holy crap, can you imagine the photo ops” kind of way.

Like most things in life though, preparation is key and in order to get into shape for MP, I’ve been doing a lot of hiking.  Tough Mudder at the beginning of August (up and down a mountain…oh…seven or so times. haha), and then (because I obviously didn’t get enough) a hike up Mt. Washington the following weekend.
MtWashingtonGirlsTrip 114sm
This was the second time I hiked Mt. Washington, and both times we were extremely fortunate.  Everyone I’ve talked to told us to expect the top to be “socked in” with cloud cover, which would limit the views.  Well, in yo face, Debbie Downers!  We had great weather on both trips and the views were spectactular.  I mean…yeah yeah, I know…It’s the Appalachians.  Although our local “foothills” aren’t as impressive as others out there, that Presidential Range in northern New England is still awfully purty. 🙂

Looking Out Along the Jewell Trail

Looking Out Along the Jewell Trail

And…the most important part of this sort of trip (besides the obvious photo ops) is the sense of accomplishment you feel when you stand on top of the world.  Errr…mountain.  Errr…Mountain closely resembling a foothill when compared to most other ranges. haha

Ahhhhhhhhhhhh!

Ahhhhhhhhhhhh!

I made it to the top, Bionic Legs and all!

15 Responses to “View From the Top”

  1. Gracie September 4, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

    Wow, very cool! We’re planning a hike up Mt. Washington at the beginning of October, it’d be my first time so I’m a little nervous as I admit I am out of shape. How long is the hike?

    • seeingspotsphoto September 4, 2013 at 7:06 pm #

      Well, I have a torn meniscus in my left knee and something wrong with my right (haven’t tried to figure that one out yet…one surgery in the books at a time. haha) so I was hiking with two busted knees and hiking poles, and took a lot of photo breaks… We went up Ammonousac (sp?) and came down Jewell. We started the hike around 9:30am, got to Lakes of the Clouds around 3pm, and to the top around 4. Without so much working against you though, you can probably do it a bit faster. Just keep in mind even hiking down Jewell, unless you want to trail run, you’ll need at least 4 hrs so watch the time so you don’t get caught in the woods after dark!

      • Gracie September 4, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

        Oh wow…thanks for the feedback. I’ll have to prepare for this one big time…haha.

  2. Village Photography September 4, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

    Wow what a great trip that will be! Not sure if you have seen this Gigapan view. If not check it out http://gigapan.com/gigapans/116906 and here is the background story http://gigapan.com/cms/about/success-stories-machu-picchu

    • seeingspotsphoto September 4, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

      That’s wild! 15.9 gpx! Thank you so much for sharing. 🙂

      I agree with what they said though. One of the reasons I’m so anxious to get so much traveling done now. You never know how long a place has before it’s gone.

  3. Alastair September 4, 2013 at 6:12 pm #

    They are stunning views. Where are you planning on going this weekend then?

    • seeingspotsphoto September 4, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

      Well, last weekend was a family trip to Pennsylvania. This weekend….who knows! haha Probably somewhere close though. 🙂

  4. Ines September 4, 2013 at 11:00 pm #

    I love hiking and this year I totally took advantage of being in Switzerland to do a lot of hikes. I can understand what you mean by sense of accomplishment, even if it’s a small hill 😉 It’s just that feeling that you had a mission that day and you made it, right? I never bring my camera with me when I go hike though, I like to go as light as possible. Do you have a special backpack?
    Have fun in Peru! I’m looking forward to seeing the photos!

    • seeingspotsphoto September 12, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

      I do have a special laptop/camera bag, but with all of the padding, it tends to get a bit heavy. For this trip, I’m just modifying a lighter normal pack to protect my camera.

      Holy moly, Switzerland….now THOSE are some mountains! You must be loving it!

  5. bulldog September 5, 2013 at 9:20 am #

    Wow I can’t wait for you to return from the MP with photos… and climbing all the mountains in preparation, brave and tenacious… I admire your perseverance

    • seeingspotsphoto September 12, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

      Aww thanks. 🙂 I just firmly believe, for the most part, we can accomplish almost anything if we want it bad enough. And I really want to see MP. I’m just prepping for a surgery right after I get home. hahaha

  6. William September 6, 2013 at 7:32 am #

    You’re going to love it. Presumably going through the Inca Trail…if your legs can keep going, do Huayna Picchu also. View from the top is incredible. Unless you get fog like I did 😦

    • seeingspotsphoto September 12, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

      Oh my goodness, fingers are definitely crossed for good visability! I’ve been looking forward to the view my whole life!

  7. Ben September 13, 2013 at 6:15 am #

    Great shots! Good idea to prepare for MP – I’ve never been but it’s right up there on my list of dream destinations. I love your photography, can’t wait to see the shots you come back with! Good luck, and thanks for stopping by my blog today. It’s much appreciated 🙂

    • seeingspotsphoto September 14, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

      Thanks for the kind words, Ben! I feel like the pressure is really on to produce some great shots now. haha

Leave a Reply

