The “B-Side”

21 Nov
New Hampshire Cascades

New Hampshire Cascades

I suspect I might be dating myself here, but for those of you who remember the time when vinyl was king…you’ll probably also remember the term B-side.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with the term (aka…young’uns), side one of a record was generally reserved for the songs that the producer or record company intended to be the hit.  The other side of the record (or cassette, for you children of the 80’s), had everything else.  Generally speaking, the songs on the B-side weren’t quite as shiny, pop-y, catchy or marketable.

Well, my photography process also has a B-Side.  When I get home from a shoot or trip, my first instinct is to edit the stand out images.  The ones that just scream for attention.  They’re well composed, well exposed and just damn purty.

And then…there is everything else, which honestly, often gets forgotten.

Not today though!  Today, I looked through the archives, and edited a B-Side.  As to whether or not its an “Elvis Presley” B-Side, which were often considered to be just as good as the hits…or a Tommy Tutone B-Side, which was considered to be…

You know what?  Forget that. Let’s just bask in Jenny’s 867-5309 moments of fame.  Aaaaannnnd, enjoy my photo. 🙂

11 Responses to “The “B-Side””

  1. V-Light November 21, 2013 at 8:55 pm #

    Except from the sky that’s overexposed i don’t see anything b-side with this photo! The framing is really nice and i love how the water exits from the bottom left corner. If you decided to spend some time on photoshop you could transform this photo into a really great one! 🙂 And i’m sure there are a lot of people out there that call themselves photographers and can’t even take half as good photos!

    • seeingspotsphoto November 21, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

      Thanks for the feedback! I appreciate it. I’ll double check, I suspect I bracketed for this shot and I don’t believe there was much of a sky to speak of that day, so even the darkest exposure had a blah sky. I’ll double check though and if there is some data there, I’ll give your suggestion a whirl.

      • V-Light November 21, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

        🙂 You are welcome! Well it’s hard to take a well exposed photo in a forest when you have a really bright sky. Even if you take multiple exposures. I have many photos like this one and i have also placed them on my b-side options…but i would really love it if i could save them somehow. In your case i was thinking that since the area of the sky is not very big maybe with some careful masking you could place a “fake” sky in there…I don’t really like to do that kind of editing in my photos but maybe it’s the only way…I can’t stand to have anything over-exposed :p

      • seeingspotsphoto November 21, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

        Yeah, I’m 50/50 on that sort of edit too, though it’s growing on me as an artistic option but never to fake an out of the camera shot, if you know what I mean. I’ve seen some amazing edits though, which are obviously artistic composites or edits that I’ve loved. Just has to be used judiciously, and the edits done well.

      • V-Light November 21, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

        Yes, exactly! I also don’t like to alter my photos in that way, i don’t ever add or remove elements (except from sensor dust spots :p). But if you can manage to create a realistic look maybe it could be a tool used to “save” photos that you think they deserve a second chance 🙂

  2. bulldog November 22, 2013 at 6:11 am #

    I like the B side…. not the best but not much wrong with it,….

    • seeingspotsphoto November 22, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

      Thanks! You know what I like about B-sides? They give me a chance to evaluate the individual components of an image and decide what works and what doesn’t. It’s actually a great learning tool to figure out what makes a successful photo. 🙂

  3. Kirt D Tisdale November 22, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

    I guess unfortunately I do remember the “B” side. Nice picture!!

  4. himaintenancemom November 23, 2013 at 11:51 am #

    You sure don’t look like you’re old enough to remember B-sides.

    Sometimes something I think is B-side material, other people think is A-side. Everyone sees the same thing is different ways. Ultimately, what remains most important, is that as artists we stay true to ourselves. Every time I sell out because I think it’s what the judges want to see I lose twice. The first time because the photographs I’ve submitted are usually not want the judges wanted to see.The second time because I’ve compromised who I am as an artist. Never be afraid to show your B-side. As long as you’re ok with it, that’s all that matters.

    • seeingspotsphoto November 23, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

      Great advice! I agree 100% about making art for yourself. I think there are cases where you have to yield to another (usually your employers) vision, but for me, for landscapes, I’m just finding beautiful spots and capturing them in a way that makes sense to me.

      Oh…and having your art judged?? Dang. That’s so impossible to predict because its so subjective. But like you said, if you’re happy with your images, that’s ultimately what you walk away with at the end of the day. The rest – the contests, the accolades, etc – is just exposure and marketing.

Leave a Reply

