Feedback Needed

2 Apr
Bixby in the Blue

Bixby in the Blue :: CA

So…I don’t know if you know this…but I have a gallery page.  And on that gallery page are pictures…48 pictures, to be exact.  I am looking to pare that number down a bit, as an overhaul to the page.

 

I am looking for you, my reader-friends, to pass along your two cents.  I’m in chop and toss mode, so I’d love to hear what you think I should KEEP.  Think of it as a favor.  You do this for me, and in the future, I will buy you imaginary pizza and beer.  Unless you’re underage.  Then, imaginary juice. 😉

 

Thanks in advance for your time and efforts.  Only you can prevent forest fires….er….photo deletion!

 

xoxo

Shannon

26 Responses to “Feedback Needed”

  1. john April 2, 2014 at 7:32 pm #

    Why are you tossing any of them? They are all stunning! I’d like to see them larger and in separate posts, but do not take them away, please!

    • seeingspotsphoto April 2, 2014 at 7:50 pm #

      haha Thanks for the kind words, John! I’ve got a magazine asking to see my work, and wanted to put the gallery in top shape before I shared the link. 🙂

  2. BoardingPassMN April 2, 2014 at 7:36 pm #

    I will take a look and try to help you :). I would really appreciate it if you would take a look at my Travel video!! Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vL6x4OGksh8&feature=youtu.be
    I hope you enjoy!

  3. Al April 2, 2014 at 7:37 pm #

    I don’t think I am much help. They are all fantastic, and the only ones I would say about are 22 and 23 because of the similarity to the ones on the line above. Sorry I couldn’t help more

    • seeingspotsphoto April 2, 2014 at 7:44 pm #

      Any feedback at all is helpful! Thank you for taking a moment to give your opinion!! 🙂

      • Al April 2, 2014 at 8:03 pm #

        You’re welcome 🙂

  4. tybeetabby April 2, 2014 at 8:00 pm #

    I agree with the other folks. All your photos are beautiful. For me the top three are: Vigilance, Still Reflections and Joshua Tree Sunrise. I don’t think that I would cull any though. P.S. I thought I recognized Watkins Glen, NY. Cool place

    • seeingspotsphoto April 2, 2014 at 8:05 pm #

      You definitely did! It’s a great hike, though it was super crowded the day I went. One of the compositions I wanted, I had to wait over a half hour for a family to move out of the shot. While I was sitting there with my tripod set up, a bunch of other photogs lined up behind me and waited too. It wasn’t even a spectactular shot, I just liked the texture on some rocks. haha I bet they felt silly when they figured out what I was waiting for all that time. hahaha

  5. gtonthenet April 2, 2014 at 8:01 pm #

    Not sure I helped much – I ended up ‘Liking’ nearly all of them 🙂 Great collection of images.

    • seeingspotsphoto April 2, 2014 at 8:05 pm #

      Every bit helps! Thank you so much for taking the time to help me out! 🙂

  6. pkphotooftheday April 2, 2014 at 9:02 pm #

    I intended to help by choosing my favorites, but I had way too many favorites. All very nice! I’m afraid all I managed to do is click the like button. Sorry 😦

    • seeingspotsphoto April 3, 2014 at 2:32 pm #

      No need to be sorry..at the very least, it’s nice to be appreciated. haha Thanks for taking the time to try to help. 🙂

  7. perfectlight April 2, 2014 at 9:17 pm #

    it’s only now, after i read the comments, when i realise why do you want to do it. you are absolutely correct: if a magazine wants your work, you should present a smaller collection (preferably a portfolio of maximum 20 images). so you asked for it, here is my list of images that i think you should eliminate (mainly because they don’t fit in with the rest to form a theme/idea/concept):
    cabin in the woods
    glacial evolution
    connecticut colours
    the guardian
    autumn falls
    enders falls
    industrial
    redwood trail
    down the rushy glen
    empty pockets
    she’s so shy…
    view from the top
    this land is your land
    americana
    aquamarine
    endless summer

    hope is gonna help and instead of pizza, you won’t kill me 🙂

    • seeingspotsphoto April 3, 2014 at 2:31 pm #

      Of course there are no hard feelings! haha I did ask for your help, remember? 😉 Thank you for taking the time to give some input!

      • perfectlight April 3, 2014 at 5:40 pm #

        you’re welcome, anytime!

  8. Nelson April 2, 2014 at 9:27 pm #

    My top three Diana’s pool, Shades of gray and Vigilance ….. and I prefer my pizza all-dressed with chicken wings and a Coke 🙂

    • seeingspotsphoto April 3, 2014 at 2:29 pm #

      hahaha I will put in the imaginary pizza order today. 😉

  9. photosfromtheloonybin April 3, 2014 at 1:24 am #

    It looks like I’m on the same page as everyone else. They’re all stunning – I wouldn’t get rid of any of them. Sorry, I know that’s now very helpful :).

    • seeingspotsphoto April 3, 2014 at 2:33 pm #

      haha Well, I still appreciate you taking the time to try to help. Means a lot to me!

  10. ChloeClik April 3, 2014 at 8:44 am #

    Wow you have so many gorgeous images.
    Here are what I feel are the very best.
    Joshua Tree Sunrise (absolutely beautiful, you really captured the soul of the place)
    Conflicted (very atmospheric)
    She’s so shy.
    She whispers
    Accents (love the contrast)
    Diana’s Pool (stunning)
    Still reflections.
    Shades of Grey
    Nubble Light
    Redwood
    Vortex
    Glacial Evolution (spell binding)
    Moray
    The Keyhole
    Round and Round (that’s some fantastic photography)
    Dusky Blues
    The clouds drift low
    La Jolla Sunset
    Abandoned (gorgeous colours)

    Hope I was able to help. You’ve got a portfolio to be proud of. Mmm yum thanks I enjoyed that pizza and juice 🙂

    Have a great day,
    Chloe

    • seeingspotsphoto April 3, 2014 at 2:34 pm #

      Thanks so much, Chloe! It means a lot to me that you took some time out of your day to help. Glad you enjoyed the imaginary snacks! 😉

  11. Pat Reeder April 3, 2014 at 1:59 pm #

    I love them all and will be no help in your culling efforts. I must say, I am partial to This Land is Your Land, but that isn’t a very objective critique is it? Good luck and hope all goes well with the magazine.

    Pat

    • seeingspotsphoto April 3, 2014 at 2:35 pm #

      haha Yes, a somewhat biased opinion. 😉 Thanks Aunt Pat!! xo

  12. Carissa April 3, 2014 at 2:11 pm #

    My thoughts on what I think you may want to consider removing:

    Test of Time
    Industrial – distorted image
    Down the Rushy Glen (the light in this doesn’t do anything)
    Abandoned
    Flatiron – I am not a big fan of selective color anyway, and I find it distracting in this image
    Cabin in the Woods – too many weird lines in the snow, If they all went in one direction it would be okay.
    The Guardian
    Americana
    This Land is Your Land

    • Carissa April 3, 2014 at 2:12 pm #

      I will go through again after work and review once again for the ones I think are absolutely the best. 🙂

      • seeingspotsphoto April 3, 2014 at 2:38 pm #

        Thank you for the list, Carissa! The reasons help, for sure. I like seeing people’s thoughts on what to keep or cull and why. 🙂

Leave a Reply

