Light Play

20 May
With Bated Breath

With Bated Breath

With the world being flooded with digital images, the edit you put on a photo is just as important as the thought, resources and skill it took to capture the files in the first place.  Your choices, your editing style and methods can totally change the feel of a finished product.

How so, you ask?  (Or if you didn’t, you should have!)

Well, the obvious answer is that art is subjective, our eyes perceive the world differently and when we begin the creative process – the moment when we put our eye to the camera – our idea of how the image should be shaped belongs to us, as the artist alone.

Our choice in edits helps to bring those ideas to fruition.

With Bated Breath :: Light Painting

With Bated Breath :: Light Painting

For example, this is an example of light painting.  The colors and highlights within this image were enhanced with a layer dedicated solely to painting in color and light where it needed a boost.  To me, the details still lack a bit of contrast, but I like the moody feel of the light and the boost given to the lackluster sunrise.

With Bated Breath :: HDR

With Bated Breath :: HDR

Now, this photo is an HDR – more detail, but lacks the depth that comes along with dynamic light.  This particular image, to me, has the feel of a painting.  It is a great re-creation of nature, but it doesn’t feel real.

For this particular image, I chose to mix the two techniques, masking in which parts of each version I enjoyed.  The final version is the photo at the top of the post.

Now, is any one way better than the others?  No.  Not really.  It’s art.  If you love the painterly feel, you’ll probably hang the HDR version.  If you love light bleed, you’ll shoot for the light painting effect.

That’s the thing about art.  It’s 100% in the eye of the beholder.  First and foremost, I work to learn and create images I enjoy.  Once you develop a style, then you will define your market.

8 Responses to “Light Play”

  1. Rob Moses Photography May 20, 2014 at 2:10 pm #

    Looks good.

    • seeingspotsphoto May 20, 2014 at 4:08 pm #

      Thanks Rob! I’ve always enjoyed your work, and appreciate the kind words. 🙂

  2. JennyO May 20, 2014 at 2:18 pm #

    I love the light painting, it is art. The original photo is gorgeous as well.

    • seeingspotsphoto May 20, 2014 at 4:09 pm #

      Thanks so much, Jenny! I’m by no means an accomplished light painter, but I’m practicing. I love the feel of images with more dramatic light, and want to make more of that sort of art for myself. 🙂

  3. kevinjhurt May 22, 2014 at 2:26 am #

    I think you hit the nail on the head with the idea that the processing is as important today as was the image capture in camera. It’s amazing what an ability to manipulate in photoshop, lightroom, or some other software application can do for an image. I like your work.

    • seeingspotsphoto May 22, 2014 at 2:48 am #

      So, so true! I think I spend more time learning different processing techniques than I do field techniques. A photo without that final polish won’t stand out in such a crowded photography field.

      Thanks for the kind words, Kevin!

  4. V-Light May 25, 2014 at 6:52 am #

    I think the difference between the first two is very subtle. They are both very good! The last is a bit too painterly for my taste but still looks good. Looking at them side by side i think i prefer the first one 🙂

    • seeingspotsphoto May 26, 2014 at 3:39 am #

      That first one is actually a blended edit of the other two images, and is my favorite too!

Leave a Reply

