Happy Birthday to America!

7 Jul
'Merica

‘Merica

This weekend, I spent a lot of time away from my phone.

It was a nice feeling, to unplug a bit. As a photographer trying to grow her business, I spend more time than most people worrying about my edits, planning my blogs, working out marketing and social media strategies, networking, educating myself, etc. It’s a labor of love, and it doesn’t weigh on me…but every once in a while its nice to just enjoy the friends and family around me without worrying about the next whatever.

Fireworks Fun

Fireworks Fun

I did put a few photos on IG and FB to document the weekend, but haven’t done much catching up on you guys until this morning. (I hope y’all are enjoying the fireworks, the barbeques, the beaches and ‘Murica’s bday!)  The whole process made me think a little bit about the whole social media as a way of marketing thing, and the interesting cultural decisions to embrace one social media over another.  Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, G+…why are they leading the pack, ya know?  Why are Flickr and 500px such powerful photo sharing resources?  Why one and not another?

IG

IG

Most of those are rhetorical questions, but what I do want to know is which social medias do you use the most?  Which ones do you enjoy?  Get feedback and interaction on?  Which ones are a worthwhile investment in your time?

Also, obviously, if you want to follow me on any of your various social medias, I’d appreciate the support.  It helps spread the word about SSP, and as we all know, word of mouth is a powerful thing.  At one point, I think someone said something along the lines of…never toot your own horn, let other people do it for you.  I believe it was Abraham Lincoln.  On the internet.  Therefore, it must be true. haha

8 Responses to “Happy Birthday to America!”

  1. Justin Avery (J.T. Avery Photography) July 8, 2014 at 12:32 pm #

    I tried to do some selling of my work at one point and started up a Twitter account. I quickly found out that it does help but it is very hard to try to sell photography vs. selling classes or photo sessions. Since I am not interested in doing either of those though I decided I didn’t want to invest any more time into it as I didn’t think it’d be worth it. I don’t mind getting more exposure so people can see my work though. I have found that my WordPress Blog has taken off much faster than my Flickr or Twitter accounts. I think blogs are a very powerful marketing tool. I do software development as a day job and am always hearing about how important SEO is to being found as search engines are what mostly drive the internet now days. For a business, I think keeping up on a blog is very important as the part of the search engines algorithm is to rank based on new content and if you are posting new content regularly on a blog, then there’s more of a chance the search engine will have your results at the top. Content is key though as you have to hope someone is searching for the content that is within your posts.

    I wish you luck on trying to expand your business as I know how hard it can be. I think the more you spread yourself out across multiple platforms the better it is for your business, but then again it also takes up more of your time as well. It all comes down to how much time you want to invest into your business vs. personal activities.

    • seeingspotsphoto July 9, 2014 at 7:33 pm #

      So true. It’s always a tough balance, to find time for everything, but I’m passionate about photography and growing the business, so it doesn’t weigh on me. 🙂

      Very good point about the SEO and content. I basically have a schedule laid out for most of my post on all of the social media and see varying degrees of success. Seems like you need a different strategy depending on the social media and the mindset of the users!

  2. Ines July 8, 2014 at 2:18 pm #

    I use Facebook to share what’s happening on my blog, I usually put some sneak peeks there before I publish something, I also want to use this platform for “BTS” photos in the future – I think people really like to see those kind of things. And in general, I always tag people on portraits so their friends get to see the photos on their feed and hopefully they will like them and click on my page 😉

    I have an Instagram account as well but I don’t really mention the blog there. It’s more a daily diary in images and if people are curious they can see in my bio that I have a blog.

    As for Twitter I use it both to share my posts on the blog and as a motivational wall: I’ve recently started to post a “quote of the day” + a photo almost every day. It’s like a personal reminder to be happy and who knows it will make someone else’s day better! And of course, the link of my blog is on the bio.

    I also have a Flickr account but it’s not updated anymore.. Time is too short and that one was left behind.

    Oh and I’m on Bloglovin! It’s where I have my list of (non WordPress) blogs that I follow, so I thought I would create a profile too.

    Of those 5, Facebook gets more interaction and I feel it’s easier to connect with people there – but maybe that’s because I invest more time in it than in the other ones? 🙂

    I think if time is an issue you should choose only one to market yourself and devote all your “marketing time” to it! Good luck!

    • seeingspotsphoto July 9, 2014 at 7:29 pm #

      I definitely think time is a factor, for sure. There is only so much of it! We were talking to Toby Harriman last month when I was in Cali, and he was talking about how it’s a full time job and it’s hard to keep up with it. The more successful you are, the worse it gets. haha

      • Ines July 9, 2014 at 7:41 pm #

        It’s hard I agree, but there are some tricks to save time and I’m actually writing a post about this 😉 It will be online tomorrow if you’re curious and want to check!

      • seeingspotsphoto July 10, 2014 at 4:28 pm #

        I did! Great post! 🙂

  3. mascara & mud July 11, 2014 at 1:21 pm #

    I LOVE the fireworks one!

    • seeingspotsphoto July 15, 2014 at 1:32 pm #

      Thank you so much! The “boys”…aka grown men who don’t realize it yet…were chasing each other with what looked like sparklers on steroids. Probably not the safest thing they could have been doing, but good for photos and no one got hurt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

