The Forest of the Ancients

15 Jul
The Forest of the Ancients

The Forest of the Ancients

How big is a Redwood, exactly?  “Really stinkin’ big”, is the answer.  Even these guys, which definitely are not anywhere near the biggest ones we saw that day, were still huge.  And full of texture.  And light was just so beautiful…you other photographers know what I mean here.  I swear I must have stopped every 5 minutes and just stared, mouth open, taking it all in.

Nothing reminds you of how much you’re part of something larger than yourself and your day-to-day worries than standing among the giants.

If you’re the sort who loves to feel the calm that comes along with walking through a bright forest, I recommend finding a way to see the redwoods.  If you’re the sort who appreciates the power and beauty of Mama Earth, I recommend finding a way to see the redwoods.

If you’re the sort who hasn’t yet discovered the peace, the calm, the awe and the majesty of those things…I highly recommend you find a way to see the redwoods.  It is a unique and powerful experience.  The only thing I can equate it to is the way I feel looking at a truly dark sky, where you can really see how many stars look down on us at night.  We are tiny fish in a gigantic universe of a pond.  Not at all insignificant, just part of a much bigger picture than most people think about on a daily basis.

Oh…and lastly, if you’re the sort of person who likes to go places and take selfies….well…you should probably find yourself some redwoods. 😉

Redwoods Papparazzi-Selfie courtesy of David Pasillas Photography

Redwoods Papparazzi-Selfie courtesy of David Pasillas Photography

For my FB friends…and those of you who are about to become my Facebook friends (eh? eh? Nudge nudge? Wink Wink?), here is a gift for you! 🙂  I took this image with a FB banner in mind, thinking it would be cool to feature these giants as a header to my page.  I often shoot with purpose when I see a scene that intrigues me.  For a little more info about that, go here…it’s just another item on the mental checklist for those of you looking to make use of your images after they’re processed.

The Ancients Banner

The Ancients Banner

16 Responses to “The Forest of the Ancients”

  1. Eden July 15, 2014 at 1:37 pm #

    Beautiful light in these!

    • seeingspotsphoto July 15, 2014 at 1:40 pm #

      It truly was. I could have spent all day just sitting there, appreciating the glow of the forest. 🙂

  2. Village Photography July 15, 2014 at 2:18 pm #

    You are absolutely right! I walked with the giant redwoods on Vancouver Island this spring and they are truly awe inspiring.

    • seeingspotsphoto July 15, 2014 at 2:33 pm #

      It’s just one more reason to adore the west coast. 🙂 I bet Vancouver Island in the spring is nice, huh?

  3. lauramacky July 15, 2014 at 4:02 pm #

    I love the redwoods. We have quite a few near us. Where is this?

    • seeingspotsphoto July 15, 2014 at 4:15 pm #

      This shot was at Big Basin, somewhere near San Fran. David Pasillas was driving, so I don’t know exactly where. 😉

      • lauramacky July 15, 2014 at 5:00 pm #

        Oh ok lol. I live right near SF. there are a lot of places that have redwoods in Northern California 🙂

      • seeingspotsphoto July 17, 2014 at 2:31 pm #

        Which makes me super jealous of the lack of redwoods here in CT. haha David actually joked about sending me a seedling, but even if I managed to keep it alive out here, it wouldn’t be “redwood sized” in my life time. haha

      • lauramacky July 17, 2014 at 3:02 pm #

        I have a redwood burl I got some months ago. I even posted about it! It’s still growing lol.

      • seeingspotsphoto July 17, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

        I have to go find the post! I want to see! 🙂

  4. David Pasillas July 15, 2014 at 6:03 pm #

    I can confirm the every 5 minute thing. I may even have a shot with your jaw dropped 😛

  5. Justin Avery (J.T. Avery Photography) July 16, 2014 at 12:07 pm #

    I’m hoping to walk among these giants one day. So hard to photograph something so great and get the whole feeling in. I bet it was quite the experience. Great shots Shannon!

    • seeingspotsphoto July 17, 2014 at 2:28 pm #

      Put it on your priority bucket list, Justin! You won’t regret it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

