Hope Rises

28 Oct
Hope Rises

Hope Rises

“When you arise in the morning, think of what a precious privilege it is to be alive – to breathe, to think, to enjoy, to love.” – Marcus Aurelius

 

In the news this past week, I’ve seen powerful images of the people of West Africa who have been devastated by ‘the Ebola’, NYC gripped with fear, polls suggesting we close our borders to countries in need (which is reactionary and virtually impossible to enforce in today’s international society), three separate attacks on the brave people in uniforms that keep the citizens of Canada and the US safe and the pain of another community affected by a school shooting.  CNN is a total bummer.

 

With media being what it is, and the state of our world being what it is….it is so easy to feel overwhelmed and helpless in the face of all of the negativity.  “ISIS!  Ebola!  and YOU! ” It’s easy to fall prey to the fear.  If you let it, fear will drown out the voice of logic that tells you not to worry yet.  You’ll want to close yourself off, wall yourself into a little room and wait until the problems disappear.  And that’s just in the global community.  What about your own personal life?  Your own problems?  Work is tough, or worse yet, work is slow.  Your son needs braces.  Your cat just passed away.  Your debt seems insurmountable….  RUN!  Run away!  If I ignore it long enough, it will go away, right?

 

Wrong.  In my experience, that rarely seems to work.  I’ve never known a problem to solve itself.  At least…not in a way that favors me. haha

 

Every day we wake up is a blessing.  Every morning that we draw breath is an opportunity to improve ourselves and the life around us.  Yes, the world is full of problems.  Yes, our day to day is full of problems.  But if you focus on the problems instead of the solution, you’ll never rise above your current situation.

 

At one point, a few years back, I came to a cross roads in my own life.  My problems and anxiety piled up.  There were moments where facing anything except the inside of my eyelids seemed monumental.  But I had a realization.  In the grand scheme of things, my life wasn’t so bad – I had a job, which some people couldn’t say.  I had a roof over my head, which some people would give anything for.  I was a free female living in a country that recognizes basic human rights.  I told myself, “it could definitely be worse.”  I started to focus on the things I did have and that moment, when I chose to be the master of my own life, changed everything.

 

It didn’t happen all at once, of course.  First it was changing my thoughts.  I focused on the positives and suddenly I didn’t feel like I was drowning.  Before long, I began to feel empowered.  Dreams?  Pffft.  Like problems that don’t solve themselves, dreams don’t come to pass without work.  I didn’t have dreams, I had goals.  Once I began seeing what my hard work could accomplish, it became easier to see that the changes in my own life were affecting the people around me.  It was easy to see that strength and generosity walk side by side.  Every part of my life became better and the people around me benefited because of the power of hope.  Seeing that there was room for positive vibes in my life gave me the strength to shape my life into something special.  I just had to be willing to be the change I wanted to see.

 

Be strong.  Take another step.  Believe in yourself.  Be loud.  Be compassionate.  Let’s shape our future – the world’s future – into something special.

 

Every day that the sun rises, hope rises.  Shine on. ❤

 

This image was taken in Acadia National Park while out exploring with my friends, Mike Mezuel, Mital Patel and David Pasillas.  They are rad dudes, and inspiring photographers.  Please check their work out.  And if you aren’t already doing so, make sure to follow along on my instagram or twitters or the facebooks…a lot of behind the scene shots from these sort of adventures end up there.  Like that time we….oh…nevermind.  *look away* 😉

14 Responses to “Hope Rises”

  1. kofinsiah October 28, 2014 at 3:15 pm #

    beautiful

  2. photosfromtheloonybin October 28, 2014 at 3:31 pm #

    What a fabulous post!! I have always been a fairly positive person, but my hubby has CNN on all the time, and it really brings me down. I try not to watch it and instead focus on the things that give me joy. Life is to short to not be happy :).

  3. bigbird34 October 28, 2014 at 5:48 pm #

    It can get very depressing watching the news everyday. You have the right attitude, we must remain positive. My faith gets me through most days.

    • seeingspotsphoto October 28, 2014 at 8:42 pm #

      A positive attitude can help put most things into perspective, for sure. 🙂

  4. David Pasillas October 28, 2014 at 9:18 pm #

    Look at you, quoting Marcus Aurelius. He’s one of my favorite philosophers.

  5. JennyO October 29, 2014 at 1:23 pm #

    Reblogged this on JennyO's Weblog and commented:
    I completely embrace this and – well yes, I have completely felt overwhelmed with the news, ISIS, Ebola, Politics… all going to hell. I have to remind myself “I can only control ME and how I react”

    This is a good reminder if I allow my depression, anxiety, and fears overwhelm me? It’s like a pebble in the lake, it ripples out and effects those around me. I need to find the things I can control and the effect I can make.

    It is a privilege to be alive, and the fact is, we need to start living each moment in the reality and while acknowledging the future not allowing it to overwhelm our present.

    (PS: I know I’ve dropped off the planet, life is busy, I’ve really been trying to apply some focus on the moment instead of going through the motions)

  6. JennyO October 29, 2014 at 1:24 pm #

    Thank you, I had to reblog this you speak so perfectly to how I feel. Exactly. Right Now.

  7. Shane Walsh October 29, 2014 at 3:05 pm #

    Great shot, and excellent write up, from someone who suffers from silly anxiety I found this article to be great in realizing what good I have in life. Cheers.

    • seeingspotsphoto October 29, 2014 at 3:45 pm #

      I’m so glad you got something out of the write up! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dreamsong | SeeingSpotsPhoto.com - November 4, 2014

    […] there were were, shooting away on the boulder face pictured here, wrapped up in a beautiful sunrise.  Maybe it was the lack of sleep, maybe it was the lack of caffeine…most likely […]

Leave a Reply

