Dreamsong

4 Nov
Dreamsong

Dreamsong

Be still and listen, the Earth is singing.

 

So often, they say that your photograph should tell a story.  You should have a “thing” you want to convey and use your image as a way to do that.

 

Good, advice.  Tried and true.  But what do they say about images that invite you to be part of their story?

 

Let me start at the beginning.  There I was, schlepping around Acadia (my first time there) determined not to create the same old shots that have been done a million times.  Now, given the popularity of Acadia coupled with the fact that I was there with three other extraordinary photographers, the potential for a comp stomp was damn near exponential.  Trying to make something completely new…or completely new to my eyes and experiences at least…seemed like a tall order.

 

Thank goodness I’m never one to back down from a challenge.  (‘Stubbornness’ eeerrr….ummmm…I mean…. ‘Dedication and tenacity’ are part of my charm.)

 

So, there were were, shooting away on the boulder face pictured here, wrapped up in a beautiful sunrise.  Maybe it was the lack of sleep, maybe it was the lack of caffeine…most likely both…but in what felt like no time the tide began creeping back in to shore.  Thankfully David noticed before our route off the rocks completely flooded.  No problem.  Time to go.  Back to the beach we went.  Or, rather, three out of four of us went back.  One of us (not naming any names *cough*Mital*cough*) was so involved in shooting seascapes that he didn’t climb down with the rest of us.

 

Now, as a photographer hanging out with other photographers in a beautiful place, you need to exercise a lot of patience.  If you’re not stopping every 5 minutes, you’re doing it wrong.  Therefore, waiting for Mit…uh…our fourth to finish up wasn’t an issue.  Him getting stuck on a cliff being pounded by progressively higher waves, with no escape route because the tide was up?  Well, that was a problem.

 

So, being the lady of the group, I obviously volunteered to toss their Nikons into the surf while they went to rescue our wayward fourth group member.

 

Um…I mean, watch their stuff.  Yeah.  Keep it safe and sound.  Yup.  *look away*

 

While I was waiting for Mike to find and/or rescue Mital, I looked longingly back at the tree I had been photographing as the sun began peeking above the horizon.  It was so tenacious, making a life for itself out on the boulder face.  I looked at the texture in the sky, and in the rocks.  I looked at the movement of the water across the rocks.  Everything about the scene felt right.  It needed to be photographed.

 

Although I loved the snaps in-camera, it wasn’t until I began the edit that I really felt the magic of the scene come alive.  At first it was just those hints.

 

Damn…that water looks good.  This shot emotes movement.  Is that even possible?

 

The light falling along those lines in the rocks is so dynamic.  I want to touch them.  Again.

 

That path!  Its calling to me, that siren, daring me to explore.

 

That was about the time I realized, my image was begging the viewer to be part of the story it was trying to tell.  I don’t know what that’s called, but its a spectacular feeling.  It’s like accomplishment, white chocolate and fairy dust all rolled into one.

 

It’s surreal, really.  Like a dream.  ………Hence, “Dreamsong”.

 

(And that, my friends, is the story of how I didn’t throw Mike’s camera into the ocean.)

 

This is just one of 5 images I put together for the ongoing “5 day black and white challenge” on the FB.  Are we friends yet?  I’d really like for you to see the rest of the pictures. 🙂

10 Responses to “Dreamsong”

  1. Village Photography November 4, 2014 at 3:38 pm #

    You nailed it with this one. Beautiful!

  2. ShethP November 4, 2014 at 3:58 pm #

    Aaah, this is beautiful. Says so much with so little. It’s as if that pathway is leading straight up to Heaven. 🙂

    • seeingspotsphoto November 4, 2014 at 4:22 pm #

      Oooh, I love your interpretation! Thank you so much for the kind words. 🙂

  3. David Pasillas November 4, 2014 at 7:17 pm #

    Really enjoyed the behind the brains look at this one. And thank you for your continued respect and admiration for Nikon 🙂

    • seeingspotsphoto November 4, 2014 at 9:54 pm #

      I can’t tell if that was written with sarcasm font or not. lol

  4. mir685 November 5, 2014 at 8:18 am #

    A really nice image. It projects both natural movement and peaceful calm.

    • seeingspotsphoto November 5, 2014 at 9:47 pm #

      Yes! You put it perfectly. Thanks so much for the kind words! 🙂

  5. Noeline Smith November 15, 2014 at 10:37 am #

    What a perfect place! The movement you’ve captured in the water is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

