The Space Between

11 Nov
The Space Between :: Ricketts Glen, PA

The Space Between :: Ricketts Glen, PA

The space between your heart and mine is the space we’ll fill with time. – DMB

I’m starting to think I have a love affair with waterfalls.  Each one is so different, has it’s own character, light, mood and challenges.  (And as you have probably come to realize by now, I do love me some challenges. haha)

This particular beauty is called Oneida Falls, one of three or four falls we stopped at that day.  For me, it was one of those moments where I instantly knew what I wanted my frame to be, and immediately loved the shot once I took it.  That doesn’t happen all of the time.  So often finding the shot is work…you try a composition, adjust, adjust again…  But those moments when my inner artist screams, “Yes!  Here!” I’m learning to listen.  Call it intuition, or more likely, the culmination of years of experience, but I firmly believe that if something catches your eye and tugs at your photo-curiosity, you should explore it.  (I mean, nothing illegal…but you know…other than that?  Thumbs up!)

This particular set of falls was a double win for us…first, we took a few moments to photograph the actual falls.  Then we worked on a surreal portrait series which involved me wading into the water up to my waist and ruining a dress.  Did I mention it was late October??  Brrrrr!  But hey, anything for the shot. lol

That surreal portrait series is currently in the lab over at David Pasillas Photography, getting fairy dust sprinkled on it.  When it’s ready, I’m sure you’ll hear more about it. 🙂  One of several top secret projects that we have in the works at the moment! (Life is so good!)
If you like the photo, please share! xo

Shannon

5 Responses to “The Space Between”

  1. kirkistan November 11, 2014 at 5:16 pm #

    I’m crazy about that shot.

    • seeingspotsphoto November 11, 2014 at 6:04 pm #

      Thank you so much. 🙂 That’s really nice to hear, I definitely appreciate it!

  2. bigbird34 November 12, 2014 at 3:45 am #

    Beautiful picture! We all have that one thing we love to photograph, I guess.

  3. Noeline Smith November 15, 2014 at 10:33 am #

    Three falls in one – water, rocks, leaves. I can see why this view screamed at you to take note 🙂

    • seeingspotsphoto November 16, 2014 at 2:25 pm #

      haha Yeah, it definitely did. It was one of those shots that we passed and I saw it, and while we were exploring the rest of the falls, all I kept thinking was, “When do we get to go back to Oneida??”

Leave a Reply

