Patience

8 Mar


“Well behaved women rarely make history.” Eleanor Roosevelt 

Today is International Women’s Day. I frequently think about how fortunate I was to be born in a place where I have rights and access to education, am considered a person not chattel, and have the protected freedoms to pursue my passions. I am grateful for the strength of the men and women who came before me, paving the way for my rights and the civil liberties afforded other historically marginalized groups. I am, in equal measure, dismayed at the idea of steps backwards both here and abroad. Today, I encourage you to think upon the world outside of your own little cosmos, and put yourself in another’s shoes. Try to understand, not fear. Wonder to yourself, “What can I do to help?? What will my legacy be?” Everyone has the power for change living within them. Maybe it’s a helping hand, an encouraging smile, speaking up against the wrongs of the world. Don’t wait for someone else to take care of the problem. We are all equally responsible for our choices in life, and that includes the choice to stand by when you could have helped. 

Women of the world……have courage, follow your passion, know that you are just as worthy as the next person and fight for your right to live and love freely. The world needs more love, respect and acceptance, not less. Be fierce, ladies, but temper it with compassion and positive change will follow. 

This image is Dunluce Castle n Northern Ireland. I travel and photograph, despite the fears and what ifs, because it is my passion and I cherish that I have the freedom to do so. I like that I am able to contribute to the beauty of the world. By traveling, I develop an emotional connection to the places I’ve seen and people I’ve met. It helps me see wonder in the vast corners of our world, not fear. For me, it is the first step of many towards a life of compassion…and the world can use more of that. 

What is your first step?

9 Responses to “Patience”

  1. Tommy March 9, 2017 at 7:25 am #

    Lovely snap. Well down.

  2. Photobooth Journal March 10, 2017 at 4:31 am #

    It is a lovely photo. Travel is definitely a big step towards understanding other cultures and perspectives on the world. I found being fearless came easily to me as my family taught me to be open to any opportunity that came along. It never occurred to me to be afraid of stepping out into the world. It worries me, also, that the world is changing towards encouraging fear and suspicion. I agree that we can all make a difference.

    Thanks for your thoughts and the great photo!

    • seeingspotsphoto March 10, 2017 at 4:41 pm #

      Thank you for your thoughts! I love hearing stories of other inspiring women being rolemodels through their actions and attitudes!

  3. weedimageoftheday March 10, 2017 at 4:25 pm #

    I thought about the day a lot two, and my first step was to help another woman. I’ve got a friend who is young, married and looking for a new job, so I searched for job openings for her. I think It’s important to support each other. Keep the movement going forward.

    • seeingspotsphoto March 10, 2017 at 4:40 pm #

      Awww, thats wonderful! On behalf of ladies everwhere, thank you!

  4. Allan G. Smorra March 27, 2017 at 9:36 pm #

    Gorgeous sky and clouds. The swirl in the grass really adds motion to the entire photo and it feels like it spills over into the clouds.
    Ω

    • seeingspotsphoto March 28, 2017 at 12:03 pm #

      Thank you so much! I completely agree, I was shooting for some sort of complimentary foregoing element to pull the viewer through the whole scene. 😊

      • Allan G. Smorra March 29, 2017 at 10:35 am #

        Mission accomplished. You nailed it.
        Ω

Leave a Reply

