Steadfast :: Iceland

14 Nov
Steadfast :: Iceland

Steadfast :: Iceland

“Some days I look down
Afraid I will fall
And though the sun shines
I see nothing at all
Then I hear your sweet voice, oh
Oh, come and then go, come and then go
Telling me softly
You love me so” -Patty Griffin/Up to the Mountain (based on an MLK speech)

 

This incredible peak had an equally incredible glacier field attached to it, and I felt blessed to see it. A photo-friend, Dani, talked about a project she is doing where she goes back yearly to a glacier field and it has noticeably receded in just the short time she’s been capturing it. It makes me wonder how long we have before these beautiful spaces are gone completely. And more importantly, I wonder what can WE HUMANS (the biggest contributors to the problem according to the newest climate report released in the US) can do to combat the problems we face?

If there are any stragglers for the print sale to benefit little Liam, let me know!  I’m ordering from the print house tomorrow!  And for all of you that have reached out already, thank you!  You’re amazing!

Shannon

2 Responses to “Steadfast :: Iceland”

  1. Bipasha November 14, 2017 at 9:51 pm #

    I had the same feeling at Jökulsárlón, the glacier lagoon off Vatnajökull. Our guide said the glacier extended all the way to the ring road when he was a kid, but now it had receded so much further inland…

    • seeingspotsphoto November 15, 2017 at 4:30 am #

      Really helps give you perspective when you can see it and experience it!

Leave a Reply

